Policy & Program Development

Matthew Stangley

Chief of Policy and
Program Development

The Policy and Program Development Team is located in Juneau. The unit is responsible for developing and maintaining program policy for the Alaska Temporary Assistance (including Work Services), Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (formerly known as Food Stamps), Adult Public Assistance, Senior Benefits, General Relief Assistance, Medical Assistance, and Permanent Fund Dividend Hold Harmless Programs. They write administrative rules, policy manuals and forms, answer policy questions, compile statistics and perform program evaluations. They are also responsible for the Division's Work Services grants and contracts.


Policy and Program Development Staff

Adult Public Assistance (APA), Alaska Temporary Assistance Program (ATAP), Native Family Assistance Program (NFAP), Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), Senior Benefits, General Relief Assistance (GRA), Heating Assistance Program (HAP), and Medicaid Eligibility Policy.

ATAP Work Services and Family Support Programs

E-mail policy questions and public inquiries to: dpapolicy@alaska.gov