In order for an Alaska Native Village to be identified as exempt from counting months towards the Temporary Assistance 60-month time limit, the following criteria must be met:



1.  The village must be federally recognized as an Alaska Native Village, and


2.  50% or more of the adults in the village were not employed according to the most recent census data, or as found by a labor market survey conducted for this purpose by the Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development.  


In addition, if the Alaska Native Village is located less than 20 miles one way by road from an urban place with a population of 2,500 or more, or is within or contiguous to a larger Alaska Native Village, the unemployment status of the larger community will be used for both.


The following Alaska Native Villages are NOT exempt from the 60-month time limit because they are within 20 miles one way by road from an urban city:

Salamatof, Saxman




The initial determination of exemptions were made effective July 1997 based on 1990 census data and labor market surveys by the Department of Labor and Workforce Development.

The exemption status for Alaska Native Villages was re-determined effective May 2003 based on 2000 census data.


The American Community Survey (ACS) data was used to re-determine exempt Alaska Native Villages effective May of 2014.  The ACS is an ongoing statistical survey that is administered by the U.S. Census to gather employment and other economic data that was previously captured in the 'long-form' of the U.S. Census' decennial survey.


Alaska Native Villages have also been reconsidered for exemption from the 60-month time limit on a case by case basis using the reconsideration process below.




If a village is not exempt based on the above criteria and there is reason to believe that 50% or more of the adults in the village are not employed, the exemption status may be reconsidered through the following process:


1.  A request for reconsideration will be submitted to the Division of Public Assistance, Department of Health and Social Services in writing and include an explanation of the circumstances that have changed in the community since the last census data was collected.


2.  The request for reconsideration must be made by a recognized local community entity, such as a municipality, native local government entity or village corporation.


3.  Requests for reconsideration received by December 1 each calendar year will be evaluated by means of a survey done under the supervision of the Department of Labor and Workforce Development.  The survey will collect data consistent with the seasonal time period in which the original census data for the exemption criteria was collected (February to April).  


4.  Villages will conduct the survey of employment in the format provided by Department of Labor and Workforce Development (DOLWD).   DOLWD will determine the time period of the survey and the size of the sample population for the survey, select the sample, provide the survey questions, instruct the community in collection of the survey information and analyze the data collected.  The community is responsible for collection of the survey data from the sample population specified by DOLWD Department of Labor and Workforce Development .  The costs of data collection will be borne by the community.


5.  The Director of Division of Public Assistance will make decisions on a community by community basis.  The effective date of the exemption will be determined by Department of Labor and Workforce Development analysis of the survey data.


6.  Urban places are defined as having populations greater than 2,500 according to the U.S. Bureau of the Census definition.  According to 2000 census estimates, they were:  Anchorage, Utqiagvik (Barrow),  Bethel,  Fairbanks, Juneau, Kenai, Ketchikan, Kodiak, Kotzebue, Moose Creek,  Nome, Palmer, Petersburg, Sitka, Soldotna, Unalaska, and Wasilla.





Previous Section


Next Section



MC #54 (12/16)