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1 Introduction 
 
The purpose of the Heating Assistance Program (HAP) is to provide assistance under the 
federal Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Act to low-income households to offset 
the cost of home heating.  The Heating Assistance Program has been operating since 
1979. 
 
The HAP is 100% federally funded by the Low Income Home Energy Assistance 
Program (LIHEAP) block grant, which is administered by the U.S. Department of Health 
and Human Services, Administration for Children and Families (ACF), Office of 
Community Services (OCS), Division of Energy Assistance (DEA).  In Alaska, LIHEAP 
Funds are administered by the Department of Health and Social Services (DHSS), 
Division of Public Assistance (DPA) and, in some areas, by Native- Tribal Organizations.  
This manual contains policies and procedures of the state-administered HAP only. 
 
HAP provides the financial assistance to help low-income households pay home heating 
costs by:   

• making a one-time payment or an extension of credit to home heating suppliers on 
behalf of eligible households; or  

• making a one-time direct payment to households whose heat is included in their 
rent or whose fuel is provided by a vendor who does not participate in the 
program. 
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2 Definitions 
 
Alaska poverty level – means the poverty guidelines for Alaska updated annually in the 
Federal Register by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services under authority 
of section 673 (2) of the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1981. 
 
Applicant – means an individual who has filed an application with the division for 
heating assistance for the individual’s use or on whose behalf an application has been 
filed with the division. 
 
Completed application – means an application, on a form authorized by the division, 
that contains the applicant's name, mailing address, and signature or witnessed mark, as 
well as the information requested by the division to determine eligibility. 
 
Disabled – means a person with a physical or mental impairment, which limits one or 
more major life activity, as determined by eligibility for:   

• Veterans disability benefits,  
• Social Security disability insurance,  
• Supplemental Security Income (SSI), 
• State of Alaska Adult Public Assistance (APA) and its subtypes including, 

but not limited to, Interim Assistance (IA), 
• disability retirement benefits from a government agency because of a 

disability considered permanent, or 
• an annuity payment under the Railroad Retirement Act and

 

 either is 
determined to be eligible to receive Medicare or is determined to be 
disabled. 

Division – means the division of public assistance in the Department of Health and Social 
Services. 
 
Earned income – means income that is paid to a person to compensate them for work 
performed. 
 
Elderly – means a person who is age 60 years or older. 
 
Fee agent – means a division-paid volunteer who is authorized by the division to conduct 
face-to-face interviews with applicants and assist applicants in completing applications 
and related forms. 
 
Fully subsidize – means regular monthly financial assistance provided by a government, 
housing authority or non-profit entity, that covers the annual cost to within $200. 
 
Gross monthly income – means total cash receipts before taxes, earned and unearned, 
derived from any source by any member of the household in the calendar month before 
the date of signature on the completed application.  The division will prorate income 
from self-employed occupations and seasonal employment during the 12-month period 
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before the date of signature on the completed application over a 12-month period to 
determine the household’s gross monthly income. 
 
Head of household – means the person who signed the application at item # 25 and is 
listed on line # 1 of the application form.   
 
Heating assistance – means any financial assistance granted under the Heating 
Assistance Program. 
 
Home heating costs – means an amount that the household pays for its own home 
heating needs either directly, or indirectly through rent. 
 
Household – means an individual or a group of individuals who are living together as 
one economic unit and for whom residential heating is customarily purchased in 
common, or who make undesignated payments for heat in the form of rent. 
 
Low Burden – means an eligibility denial for a household whose gross income, 
household size and estimated annual heating costs are calculated to be less than the 
minimum necessary to qualify for heating assistance. 
 
Pay - means to give money to in exchange for goods or services rendered. 
 
Pend notice – means a “Notice of Action” sent by the HAP to the applicant requesting 
the information needed to complete the application in order to make an eligibility 
determination. 
 
Pledge – means a promise to pay vendor.  The ET calls the vendor to pledge an award 
amount for a client.   
 
Qualified alien – means legal immigrants as defined in section 431 of PRWORA. 
 
Seasonal employment – means employment with a regular work season of 11 months or 
less that is compensated on a salary basis. 
 
Self-employed occupations – means occupations in which an individual receives income 
from the production or sale of goods or services as determined under 7 AAC 45.445 (a) - 
(g). 
 
Shared household – means a home in which more than one household (see definition 
above) resides.  Examples include multiple, unrelated adults residing in one unit with 
each contributing towards a portion of the heating costs or multiple generations/families 
residing in the same unit and each contributing to a portion of the overall heating costs.     
 
Shelter costs – means the total of the household's regular monthly rent or mortgage 
obligation for the shelter it occupies, the cost of 30 days of heating fuel or the amount of 
the natural gas utility bill, and the amount of the electric bill. 
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Subsidized rental housing – means rental housing subsidized by a government, housing 
authority, or non-profit entity, in which tenants pay 30 percent or less of their adjusted 
monthly income for rent and home heat. 
 
Subsidized rental housing utility deposit (SRHUD) – means a special grant available to 
households that need help with the initial utility deposit required to establish service for 
Section 8 or subsidized rental housing. 
 
Unearned Income – means income received that is not compensation for work 
performed.  Unearned income examples may include but are not limited to:  Workers 
Compensation, Alaska Temporary Assistance, Adult Public Assistance, Unemployment 
Insurance Benefits, Veteran’s Benefits, Social Security Benefits, Supplemental Security 
Income, Child Support, etc. 
 
United States citizen – means a citizen of one of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, 
Puerto Rico, Guam, or the Virgin Islands; and United States nationals, including 
nationals from American Samoa or Swain’s Island. 
 
Vendor – means an individual, business, or private or public agency that sells home 
heating related energy. 
 
Verification – means documentation or third-party information that establishes the 
accuracy of statements on the application. 
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3 The Application Process 

3.1 Application Form Availability 
 
An applicant must apply for heating assistance benefits on the DPA HAP application 
form.  The form must be signed by the head-of-household, or an individual authorized by 
the household to act on its behalf. 
 
At the beginning of each program year, applications are sent directly to all households 
that received heating assistance in the previous year, households denied the prior year as 
“Not Timely”, and to those that have contacted the program to request one.  Applications 
are also available at or from: all DPA Offices; Fee Agents; home heating suppliers; senior 
centers; Special Supplemental Food Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC) 
clinics; Head Start Centers; concerned agencies; the internet at 
http://www.hss.state.ak.us/dpa/heat, and  
 

Heating Assistance Program 
400 Willoughby, Suite 301 
Juneau, AK  99801-1700 
Phone:  1-800-470-3058 

FAX:  907-465-3319 
Electronic Mail:  liheap@health.state.ak.us 

 
Application forms are mailed to the elderly and disabled in mid-August, to rural areas in 
late August, and to the remaining urban areas in mid-September. 
 
3.15 Minimum Requirements to Be Acceptable 
 
The minimum requirements for an application to be acceptable, it must include: 
 
1. The name and address of the head of household on page 1 
2. The head of household must have signed and dated page 4 
 
As long as the application meets these requirements, HAP will register the application 
and pend for additional information.   
 

3.2 Completed Applications 
 
A completed application includes: 
 
1. Responses to HAP application form questions 1 through 26; 
2. The applicant’s signature and the date on line 25.  If the application is signed by a 

representative who is not a member of the household, legal documentation of Power 
of Attorney (POA) must be provided unless the information is on file;  (Noted in 
<F9> case notes from the prior year.) 



 

Page 3-2  (Rev. 10/09) 

3. Proof of gross income from all household members; 
4. A copy of the current heat and electric bills if the applicant pays for home energy 

directly,  and/or wood vendor receipts; and 
5. A copy of the rental agreement and a recent rent receipt if the applicant rents their 

home. 
 

3.3 Submitting the Application 
 
The completed application may be submitted: 

• in person, 
• to a division office, 
• to an authorized fee agent, 
• by United States mail, or 
• by fax, or  
• Scanned and e-mailed.   
 

An application for heating assistance must be postmarked or received by the division 
during the period that begins September 1 and ends April 30 of each year.  Information 
received on pended cases will be accepted after April 30, as long as it is received within 
the pending time frame. 
 
Applications for subsidized rental housing utility deposits (SRHUD) are accepted 
throughout the year. 
 

3.4 Application Receipt 

3.4.1 Entering Applications 
 
Envelopes are opened and applications date stamped in order of date received.  Enter the 
date stamped by the DPA offices as date received.   
 
On the last working day of April, the fax machine is set to print the time and date on all 
in-coming faxes.  Envelopes are saved and attached to all applications received after the 
April 30 filing deadline.  HAP will honor all applications with envelopes date stamped 
April 30, regardless of the date it is received in HAP.  Use actual date the application was 
received when registering the applications.   
 
Applications are entered into the computer in order of date received.  The exceptions are 
expedite request cases and SRHUD applications, which are given priority in being 
entered and given expedite service. 
 
Applicant last names are entered as all one word, with no punctuation and no spaces, 
except when entering a hyphenated last name.  The title Jr/Sr follows the first name with 
a comma and no space, i.e. Jones, Sam,Jr. 
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If the applicant’s birth date is not on the application, it is entered as 05/05/55. If the 
Social Security Number is missing, it is entered as all fives.  Missing fields on the 
application are highlighted.  Caseworkers are required to locate the missing information 
and enter it into the computer. 
 
Ethnicity is entered with the letters A through F.  A = White, B = Hispanic, C = Alaska 
Native/American Indian, D = Asian/Pacific Islander, E = African American, F = 
Unknown.  
 
The count of children under age 6 is based on the child’s age as of the date the 
application was signed (per Section 7.1). 
 
The computer generated file label is checked for accuracy and the application is filed by 
receipt date in numerical case number order. 
 
Application data entered into the computer system generates a receipt card.  The card is 
mailed to the applicant to notify them of the date their application was received and to 
advise them to expect action taken on their case within 45 days of the printed receipt 
date.  An alternate receipt card is generated prior to November 1.   
 
Processing consists of:  approving and issuing benefits, pending for additional 
information or denying benefits. 
 
An original application received by the HAP cannot be returned to the applicant.  If no 
action has been taken on the case, it can be denied as Application Withdrawn.  An 
eligibility determination must be made on every application, or it must be forwarded to a 
tribal LIHEAP for eligibility determination.   
 

3.4.2 Duplicate Applications 
 
The Heating Assistance Software (HAS) screens for duplicate household members during 
the application entry process.  A warning screen will flash on the screen if the computer 
detects a name, date of birth, or social security number that matches that being entered. 
The entry worker determines if the application being entered is a duplicate by checking to 
see if the person already has a file.   
 
If the applicant has a file and the case has already been processed, the first case number is 
noted on the subsequent application and it is given to the caseworker.  Entry of the 
second application is abandoned. 
 

• If the first case was approved for a grant, the caseworker will send a letter to the 
applicant that explains that only one grant is allowed in a program year and notes 
this in <F9> notes. 
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• If the first case was denied, the caseworker processes the more recent application 
using the already established case number for the applicant. 

 
If the duplicate checker is flashing but it is determined that the person is not known to 
HAS, the duplicate checker is overridden and the case set up to be processed. 
 
If the duplicate checker is flashing because a household member has been served in 
another household (but was not the head of household), the second application is entered 
into the computer. 
 

• If the first case has an assigned caseworker, both case files are given to the 
caseworker.  The caseworker will determine whether or not that household 
member was previously served.  (See Section 6-13

 

 for handling applications from 
previously served applicants.) 

• If the first case is still waiting processing, the second file is clipped to it and they 
are filed together in the drawer under the first case number.  Put notes in <F9> 
notes in both cases indicating case file location.   

3.4.3 Tribal Applications 
 
Some tribal organizations serve the Alaska Native and American Indian (and in some 
cases non-native) households in their communities.  The computer will not allow entry of 
these applications.  The HAS flashes a note at the bottom of the screen indicating that the 
applicant may be eligible to be served by another agency. 
 
The worker checks the listing of cities and villages in the file to see which tribal 
organization should serve the applicant, checks to see which agency served the household 
last year, makes a copy of the first page of the application for the file, sends the original 
application to the appropriate tribal organization and enters the name of the applicant on 
the “AN” Alert list in HAS. 
 
A referral letter is sent to the applicant letting them know their application was forwarded 
to a tribal organization.   
 
In situations where the household consists of both native and non-native adults, HAP will 
serve the household if the head-of-household is non-native.  The person who signs the 
application is considered the head-of- household.  The caseworker contacts the 
appropriate tribal organization to determine if the household has already been served.  If 
the household has not been served and the applicant is eligible for the HAP, the 
caseworker sends a copy of the first page of the application to the tribal organization with 
the words “Served by the State” written on it. 
 
If the tribal organization refuses service to a household that should be eligible to be 
served by them, the situation is brought to the attention of the Program Coordinator for 
resolution. 
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3.5 Expedited Application Processing 
 
Expedited service is provided to households facing immediate service termination, or 
who are without heat.  Expedited service results in a promise of payment (pledge to 
vendor) to remedy the heating emergency. 
 

3.5.1 Criteria for Expedited Processing 
 
Expedited service is provided to a household only if all of the following expedited service 
criteria are met: 
 

• the applicant has requested expedited service; 
 
• the household’s gross income is less than their shelter cost.  Shelter cost means: 
 

1. the sum of the household’s regular monthly rent or mortgage obligation for 
the shelter it currently occupies, 

 

 
plus 

2. the cost of 30 days of heating fuel – shown on 12 month fuel use history 
• (not to exceed $500 for oil or propane heat; $350.00 for wood or coal 

heat).   
Or 

the amount of the current natural gas utility bill, 
• May include a past due amount, delinquent amount, and deposit and 

reconnect fee.  

 
plus 

3. the amount of the current electric bill.  
• May include a past due amount, delinquent amount, and deposit and 

reconnect fee.  
 
• the applicant has suffered or will suffer within 48 hours, termination of fuel or 

home heating-related utility services; and 
 

• the applicant has submitted a complete, verified and signed application, including 
a rent receipt or rental agreement if heat is included in the rent. 

 
• the applicant must submit a copy of the shut-off notice or written notification 

from the vendor including the date of the proposed action and the past due 
amount; a fuel vendor statement of fuel use over past 12 months.   
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3.5.2 Expedited Time Frames 
 
Expedited eligibility service is available from November 1 through April 30. 
 
Applicants eligible for expedited service will be provided some form of assistance that 
will resolve the heating emergency, no later than 18 business hours after they complete a 
verified application. 

3.5.3 Expedited Application Procedures 

3.5.3.1 Registration 
 
All applications are reviewed for expedited service.  This would be either a disconnect 
notice or a note that describes the emergency.   
 

• If an application is incomplete, the applicant is contacted to let them know.  This 
is documented in <F9> notes. 

 
• If there is no indication of an emergency, it will be noted in <F9> notes (Faxed 

application received, no emergency noted) and the worker will file the application 
in the drawer at the front of the applications received on that date.   

 
• If there is an emergency the file is placed in the blue expedite box.  The worker 

taking the expedite request call puts an “N” in the expedite field in HAS.  The 
caseworker should change it to a “Y” if the applicant qualifies for expedite 
processing. 

 
If an applicant calls to request an expedite and the application is currently waiting 
processing: 
 

• the conversation and time is documented in <F9> notes, 
• the file is pulled, and 
• the file is placed in the blue expedite box. 
• the worker taking the expedite request call puts an “N” in the expedite field in 

HAS.  The caseworker should change it to a “Y” if the applicant qualifies for 
expedite processing. 

 
Applicants requesting expedited processing will be advised by phone contact of the 
determination and action.   

3.5.3.2 HAP Worker 
 
The HAP worker verifies that the application meets the expedited processing criteria. 
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The vendor(s) is contacted to assess the situation; a utility vendor is asked to hold off on 
the disconnection for at least a day, if possible.  This conversation is documented in <F9> 
notes.   
 
If the application is incomplete, the worker will try to contact the applicant once by 
telephone.  If leaving a message, the HAP worker will identify herself as “heating 
assistance” and ask the applicant to call back using the toll-free number.  Missing 
information is documented in <F9> notes; along with the date and time an attempt was 
made to contact the applicant. 
 
If the applicant has a disconnect scheduled from 48 to 72 hours in the future, the expedite 
caseworker will put the file at the back of the blue expedite box and work them as time is 
available. 
 
To determine whether to expedite an application from a household with seasonal or self-
employment income that has not worked in the past two or more months, the worker will 
use the prior month income to determine whether income exceeds shelter cost.  If so, the 
full 12-month income, averaged, is used to determine program eligibility and grant 
amount. 
 
If the applicant does not meet the expedited service criteria, the applicant is to be notified 
by phone by the HAP worker and then this is noted in <F9> notes and the file is returned 
to the front of the drawer to be worked on that receipt date.  HAP worker enters “N” in 
the expedite field on the registration page in HAS.  The applicant is referred to 
community resources.   
 
If the applicant meets the expedited service criteria, the HAP worker enters the “Y” in the 
expedite field and completes the eligibility and grant determination process according to 
the regular program rules.  The applicant is notified by phone of their eligibility and 
award amounts.   
 
The vendor(s) is contacted by telephone to pledge payment to stop a disconnect or supply 
fuel to the household.  To pledge payment the HAP worker will notify the vendor of the 
total grant amount for fuel, or pledge the amount needed to prevent electric disconnect.   
 
If the grant amount is insufficient to stop an electrical disconnect or to restore service the 
caseworker will: 
 

• Negotiate with the vendor to see if they will accept the grant amount to continue 
or restore service. 

 
• Contact the applicant to notify them that the grant amount is insufficient to 

prevent the electrical disconnect.  Ask the applicant if they can pay the remainder 
of the amount needed to restore or continue service. 
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• If the applicant is unable to provide the amount needed to restore or continue 
service, the caseworker will ask the applicant if the entire grant amount should be 
pledged to the primary heat source instead of to the electric company. 

 
The pledge amount, time, vendor representative, and caseworker initials are documented 
in <F9> notes. 

3.5.4 Expedited Processing Households With Elderly Or Disabled Members 
 

Elderly or disabled applicants must be able to apply for and receive some form of 
assistance to resolve the emergency situation within 18 hours, without leaving their 
home.  Telephone requests for assistance are forwarded to a HAP caseworker who 
collects name, date of birth and/or type of disability, Social Security Number (SSN), 
mailing address, street address, telephone number, a description of the emergency, and if 
there are any other household members.  The date and time of the call is noted. 
 
If an application is completed over the phone with the customer, we can use last year’s 
application data as a guideline, if available. 
 
If the applicant is eligible, they are advised that the completed application form is being 
sent to them for signature on the signature page.   
 
All conversations are documented in <F9> notes, including a note of the time of day. 
 
The worker enters a reminder note in Outlook to call the applicant back in three weeks if 
the signed application has not yet been received. 
 
If the signed application has not been received after another three weeks, it is noted in 
<F9> notes.  An “X” is also entered for Last Action, and the case number is entered in 
the Tracking Alert List. 
 

3.5.5 Subsidized Rental Housing Utility Deposit (SRHUD) 
 
An application for a SRHUD is made on the regular Heating Assistance Program form 
with the SRHUD box checked on page 1.   
 
An applicant requesting a SRHUD is instructed to provide their utility fax sheet and the 
worksheet they received from the housing program. 
 
After being entered into the HAS, SRHUD applications are placed in red file folders and 
taken to the appropriate caseworker. 
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4 Eligibility Factors 
 

4.1 Eligible Household 
 

A household must meet all four of the following requirements to be eligible to 
participate in the Heating Assistance Program: 
 

1) the dwelling for which heating assistance is requested is located in the state, and 
at least one member of the household is physically present in the state at the 
time of application for, and receipt of, heating assistance; and the household  

 
• physically resides in the dwelling for which heating assistance is 

requested; or  
 

• is seeking heating assistance to help with the natural gas or electric 
utility deposit necessary to move into rental housing in the state; 

 
2) at least one member of the household is a United States citizen or a qualified 

alien; 
 

3) the household’s annual unsubsidized home heating costs exceed $200; and 
 

4) the household’s gross monthly income is not more than 150 percent of the 
current federal poverty guidelines for Alaska for LIHEAP or 225 percent for the 
AKHAP.   

4.2 Subsidized Rental Housing Utility Deposit (SRHUD) 
 
HAP will award heating assistance for the minimum amount needed (up to $500) to 
establish natural gas or electric utility service required to participate in subsidize rental 
housing. Unlike the regular HAP, SRHUDs are available year around.  In order to be 
eligible for a SRHUD, the applicant must meet all of the following requirements: 

(1) the housing program will fully subsidize the household's home heating costs;   

(2) the applicant has requested a subsidized rental housing utility deposit;  

(3) the household has not received a regular grant within 180 days of the request for a 
subsidized rental housing utility deposit;   

(4) the division has verified the application as required by 7 AAC 44.041; and   

(5) the amount of the heating assistance, up to a maximum of $500, is sufficient to 
establish utility service.   
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HAP will not award heating assistance under this section more than once to a household 
in a 24-month period.   

 

4.3 Ineligible Household 
 
A household is not eligible to participate in the Heating Assistance Program if any of the 
following situations apply at the time of eligibility determination: 
 

• The household is eligible for or has received benefits from an Indian organization 
providing heating assistance funded by the Low-Income Home Energy Assistance 
Program (LIHEAP), unless an agreement to the contrary has been executed 
between the division and the Indian organization.  (See Section 14 and 15 for a 
detailed listing of Indian organizations and communities they serve). 

 
• The household resides in a crisis center, hotel, motel, tent, or other shelter 

normally intended for temporary occupancy, and has resided there for less than 60 
consecutive days before the date of signature on the completed application; unless 
they are seeking a utility deposit. 

 
• The household resides in a hospital, nursing home, Alaska Pioneers’ Home, or 

other public or private institution to receive treatment for a mental or physical 
illness. 

 
• The household resides in a student dormitory, correctional facility; or on a military 

base. 
 

• The household resides in subsidized rental housing and has no direct home heating 
costs. 
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5 Eligibility Determination Time Frames 
 

5.1 Order Received 
 
An application for heating assistance is processed in the order in which it is received, 
unless it meets the expedited processing requirement or is for a Subsidized Rental 
Housing Utility Deposit (SRHUD).  
 

5.2 One Award Per Season 
 
Only one heating assistance grant is awarded per household for applications received 
during the period that begins September 1 and ends April 30 of each year. 
 

5.3 Processing Time Frames 

5.3.1 Heating Assistance 
 
The HAP will make an eligibility determination and mail the “Notice of Action” to the 
applicant as soon as possible, but no later than 45 calendar days after the completed 
application is received by the HAP office in Juneau. 
 

5.3.2 Expedited Heating Assistance 
 
An applicant qualifying for an expedited eligibility determination will have the eligibility 
determination completed and assistance awarded within 18 business hours after receipt of 
a completed application in the HAP office in Juneau. 
 

5.3.3 Subsidized Rental Housing Utility Deposit (SRHUD) 
 
The HAP will make an eligibility determination and will authorize SRHUD assistance to 
an eligible applicant as soon as possible, but no later than 10 days after receipt of the 
completed application in the HAP office in Juneau.  If the household’s income is not 
clearly indicated in the application, and cannot be ascertained through the other 
information resources available to the HAP, the application will be pended for this 
information. 
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6 Determining Eligibility 

6.1 Application During Filing Period 
 
An application that is not postmarked or received by the Division of Public Assistance 
during the period that begins September 1 and ends April 30 is ineligible and is denied as 
“NT” – Not Timely. 

6.2 Annual Heating Costs of $200 or Less (See also 8.2, Verification) 
 
An applicant that does not pay in money for heat or rent, or pays $200 or less annually, is 
ineligible for heating assistance.  The application is denied as “NC” – No Cost.  
Examples include: 
 

• An applicant that pays directly for heat, but has a heating subsidy that covers the 
cost to within $200 annually. 

• An applicant receiving State of Alaska General Relief (GA) if the heat is included 
in the rent and the State is paying the entire monthly rental payment. 

• An applicant that is living with a parent or other relative who is paying for heat 
and not charging the applicant for rent. 

• An applicant that self-harvests wood or coal and provides no receipt to indicate 
they have a cost (in money) associated with obtaining their fuel. 

• An applicant that has a credit balance with a fuel vendor from a prior HAP grant 
that exceeds the amount the household spent for fuel during the previous 12-
month period.  

 
If the household pays for heat or rent, the caseworker does not need verification that the 
amount exceeds $200 annually unless the household lives in subsidized rental housing. 

6.3 Ineligible Dwelling 
 
An application received from a household residing in an ineligible dwelling is denied as 
“OT” – Other.  The caseworker will explain the reason for the denial in the notice text.  
An ineligible dwelling is: 
 

• An out-of-state dwelling 
• A dwelling the applicant is not residing in at time of application or receipt of 

heating assistance because he or she is out-of-state, 
• A dwelling the applicant is not residing in at time of application or receipt of 

heating assistance because they have moved out of the dwelling before their 
application was processed.  They will need to reapply for assistance at the new 
address, 

• A dwelling the applicant does not reside in at the time heating assistance is 
requested, unless the applicant is seeking a utility deposit to move in, 
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• a hospital, nursing home, “Alaska Pioneers Home”, public or private institution to 
receive treatment for a mental or physical illness, student dormitory, correctional 
facility, or located on a military base. 
 

6.4 No United States Citizen or Qualified Alien 
 
An application from a household that does not include a U.S. Citizen or Qualified Alien 
is ineligible and is denied as “OT” – Other.  The caseworker will type in the following 
text:  “Your household does not contain a U.S. Citizen or Qualified Alien.” 

6.5 Subsidized Rental Housing with Direct Heating Costs 
 
An applicant that is receiving regular monthly financial assistance to subsidize their 
annual home heating costs to within $200 is ineligible for heating assistance.  To be 
eligible, an applicant with direct home heating costs receiving a rental subsidy must 
demonstrate that their annual heating cost, after subtracting the annual heating allowance, 
exceeds $200.  In the absence of such verification, the application will be denied as “SR” 
– Subsidized Rental.  The benefit level for a household with unsubsidized heating costs 
exceeding $200 is determined in accordance with the Heating Assistance Benefit 
Computation in Section 13. 

6.6 Subsidized Rental Housing with No
A household that resides in subsidized rental housing and has no direct home heating 
costs is ineligible for heating assistance.  The application is denied as “SR” – Subsidized 
Rental.  

 Direct Heating Cost 

6.7 Temporary Shelter 
An applicant that is residing in a dwelling normally intended for temporary occupancy, 
and has resided there less than 60 consecutive days before the date of signature on the 
completed application, is ineligible for the HAP.  The application is denied as “OT” – 
Other.  The exception to this rule is a household in temporary shelter that is applying for 
a utility deposit to move into rental housing in Alaska.  
 
An example of the text for this denial is:  (The reason is … “that you did not provide 
written verification that you were living at XYZ motel for 60 consecutive days or more 
before the date you signed your application.  A motel is considered a dwelling normally 
intended for temporary occupancy.”) 
 
Examples of a temporary shelter include a: crisis center, hotel, motel, Bed & Breakfast, 
boarding home, hostel, tent, car, van or pick-up camper. 

6.8 Tribal LIHEAP 
 
This determination of household ineligibility is made at the time the application is 
entered into the Heating Assistance Software (HAS).  The application is forwarded to the 
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tribal LIHEAP and a letter is sent to the applicant.  If an applicant requests an eligibility 
determination by the HAP, the application is denied as “OT” - Other. 
 
An example of the text for this denial is:  (The reason is … “your household is eligible to 
be served by the tribal organization in your area.”) 

6.9 Income Eligibility 

6.9.1 Categorical Households 
 
Federal regulations call certain households “categorical” because they are enrolled in 
programs that are income tested and will usually be eligible for heating assistance.  The 
HAP may use categorical eligibility for determining the household’s total income for the 
income portion of the benefit computation when all household members are receiving 
assistance from any public assistance program.  The caseworker will use the most recent 
income from the household’s open public assistance case in EIS as their gross monthly 
income for heating assistance.   
 
If only a portion of the household members are on a public assistance program, the 
caseworker may use the income in EIS to verify said members income but will still need 
to obtain proof of income for other household members.   
 

6.9.2 Alaska Poverty Guidelines 
 
An applicant’s gross monthly household income must be at or below 150 percent of the 
current federal Poverty Guidelines for Alaska to be eligible for heating assistance.   

6.9.3 Calculating Income 
 
The HAP calculates the household’s gross monthly income by counting: 
 

• total cash receipts 
• before taxes  
• earned and unearned, 
• derived from any source 
• derived by any member of the household, including a non-U.S. Citizen or illegal 

alien household member 
• received in the calendar month before the date of signature on the completed 

application. 
 

6.9.4 Countable Income 
 
Wages and salaries before any deductions or garnishments; cost of living allowance 
(COLA), leave cash-outs, vacation pay, bonuses, stipends,  and back-pay. 
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Net self-employment income for the previous 12-month period, after allowable 
deductions. 
 
Gross regular and adjustments or recoupment payments from public assistance, Social 
Security, unemployment insurance, Worker’s Compensation, strike benefits from union 
funds, veteran’s benefits, training stipends and Vocational Rehabilitation payments 
except
 

 payment of tuition or training related expenses. 

Alimony, child support, military family allotments, or other support from an absent 
family member or someone not living in the household.  Child support or alimony 
payment made directly to a mortgage company on behalf of a client is considered 
income.  
 
Foster care payments.  Households receiving foster care income may choose not to count 
foster care income if they do not consider the foster child/adult to be a member of their 
household.  In these cases, the foster child/adult is not

 

 counted as a household member.  
A foster adult not considered a member of the household must be considered a household 
sharer, or room renter. 

Subsidized adoption payments  
 
Unemployment Insurance Benefits (UIB) Direct Deposit benefits are counted as income 
on the date of issuance (including recoupment payments, if any). 
 
Title V income received by senior citizens under the Community Service Employment 
Program (CSEP) and/or Mature Alaskan Seeking Skills Training (MAAST). 
 
Government employee pensions, private pensions, insurance and annuity payments. 
 
Income from dividends, interest, rents, royalties, income from estates, trusts and 
inheritance. 
 
Income received from Native corporations that are not corporate dividends or elder 
benefits.   
 
G.I. Bill payments 
 
Jury duty payments issued to the applicant 
 
Permanent Fund Dividends received by a household for a person that is not a household 
member. 
 
Bingo and lottery-type winnings 
 
Retirement and SBS payments or cash-outs 
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Payments from sale of personal property, house, boat, loan repayments, escrow 
payments, etc. 
 
BIA General Assistance (GA) paid directly to the household 
 
Cash gifts of over $20.00 per person, per month 
 
Income from the sale of stocks or bonds 
 
Lump sum payments unless specified as not countable 
 
Trade Readjustment Act (TRA) payments 
 
Higher Education Act Title IV income  
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6.9.5 Non-Countable Income 
 
Student study grants 
 
Alaska Senior Assistance Program payments 
 
Native Corporation Dividends and Native Corporation Elder Benefits 
 
Alaska Permanent Fund Dividends 
 
Wages received by a student under 18 years of age that is not the head of household 
Applicants 18 yrs of Age

 

 – When looking at applications with a HH member that is 18 
years old, use the date and signature of application to determine if the person was 18 
years old at the time the application was signed.  

Payments received for reimbursement of expenses incurred in connection with 
employment, such as travel, meals, mileage, training, or per diem reimbursement 
 
Payments received for reimbursement of medical expenses 
 
Payments for jury duty issued directly to the employer 
 
Food or rent in lieu of wages 
 
Non-cash or in-kind income - means unearned income in the form of food or shelter that 
you receive and that is paid for by someone else. In-kind support and maintenance can be 
received from someone inside or outside the home.  Shelter includes room, rent, 
mortgage payments, real property taxes, heating fuel, gas, electricity, water, sewerage 
and garbage collection service.  
 
Money received from an educational, personal, commercial, or other loan for which the 
borrower has an obligation to repay 
 
Social Security advance.  This income is a loan from a financial institution to a person 
receiving direct deposit Social Security income.  It is paid to the bank when the monthly 
SSA benefit is received. 
 
Allowances received under the Alaska Job Opportunities and Basic Skills (JOBS) 
program 
 
Vista Volunteer Income (Domestic Volunteers Service Act)  
 
Any payments (salary, wages, stipends or reimbursements) paid to volunteers under the 
Senior Corps and AmeriCorps programs of the Corporation for National and Community 
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Service (CNCS) are exempt income. Senior Corps includes Foster Grandparents, the 
Senior Companion Program, and RSVP (Retired and Senior Volunteer Corps).  
AmeriCorps programs include AmeriCorps*State and National, AmeriCorps*Vista, and 
AmeriCorps*NCCC (National Civilian Community Corps).  Volunteer status and 
participation in an exempt program must be verified. 
 
 
Payments received for support services or reimbursement of out-of-pocket expenses, such 
as lunches or transportation, made to an individual serving as a volunteer 
 
Payments made to, or on behalf of, a household member by the Division of Vocational 
Rehabilitation, Department of Education, for purposes related to training programs in 
which the individual is enrolled 
 
The portion of Supplemental Security Income (SSI) payment that is deducted as a payee 
fee, up to 10% of the monthly benefit not to exceed $35 (or $68 if the disability is based 
on drug addiction or alcoholism).  Updated 10/24/08. cs 
 
Cash gifts that do not exceed a total of $20.00 per month, per individual in the household 
 
Federal income tax refunds or earned income tax credits 
 
Food Stamps and Food Stamp hold harmless payments 
 
Alaska General Relief Assistance payments 
 
Veterans’ benefits provided to children of Vietnam veterans (including adult children) 
who were born with the congenital defect spina bifida 
 
Veterans’ benefits paid to children of women Vietnam veterans born with certain other 
birth defects  
 
Crime Victims Benefits 
 
Income specifically excluded by federal law 
 
 

6.9.6 Seasonal Employment 
 
The HAP prorates income from seasonal employment during the 12-month period before 
the date of signature on the completed application, over a 12-month period, to determine 
the household’s gross monthly income.  To this amount the caseworker will add all 
additional income received in the prior month. 
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6.9.6.1 Threshold Test  ($30,000 2009/2010 threshold) 
 
Each season the HAP establishes a seasonal income threshold test.  This approach 
increases the efficiency of eligibility determinations for very low-income households.  
The threshold test is used to determine if a prior month figure can be used for very low-
income households with seasonal income, rather than the 12-month computation.  The 
threshold test amount is the maximum annual qualifying income for a one-person 
household, rounded down to the next lower thousand dollars. 
 
To apply the threshold test, the caseworker compares the gross income from the most 
recent available four consecutive employment quarters prior to the date of signature on 
the application, with the threshold test.  If the annual gross income is less than the 
threshold test, the caseworker will compute the seasonal gross earned income using the 
lesser of either the prior calendar month or the averaged earned income amount.  If only 
one of the above is available, the caseworker will use that information rather than pend 
for additional income verification.  To this amount the caseworker will add all unearned 
income received in the prior month. 
 
The threshold test method will not be used if it results in an over income denial.  The 
previous 12-month earned and unearned income average will be used to determine 
eligibility in this situation. 
 

6.9.6.2 Examples of Seasonal Employment  ($30,000 2009/2010 threshold) 
 
Seasonal employment means employment with a regular work season of 11 months or 
less that is compensated on a salary basis.  Examples may include: construction, fish 
processing, fishing, logging, mining, trapping, fire fighting, school district, oil field, or 
tourism jobs. 
 

6.9.7 Self-Employment 
 
Self-employment is the process of actively earning income directly from one’s own 
business, trade, or profession.  Persons are considered self-employed if they: 
 
• are responsible for obtaining or providing a service or product; and  
• earn income directly from their own business; and 
• are not required to have federal income tax and FICA payments withheld from their 

earnings; and 
• are not required to complete an IRS W4 form for an employer; and 
•  are not covered by worker’s compensation. 
 
Self-employment may include income from a trade or business, hobby, commercial 
boarding house, rental property, or other income producing property. 
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The HAP prorates income from self-employment ventures during the 12-month period 
before the date of signature on the completed application, over a 12-month period, to 
determine the household’s gross monthly income. 
 
The countable net income for self-employment is determined by deducting allowable 
business expenses from the total gross self-employment income for the 12-months prior 
to the month of application.   See 8.5.4 Verification of SE Income at Page 8-4. 

6.9.7.1 Threshold Test 
 
Each season the HAP establishes a self-employment threshold test.  This approach 
increases the efficiency of eligibility determinations for very low-income households.  
The threshold test is used to determine if a prior month figure can be used for very low-
income households with self-employment income, rather than the 12-month computation.  
The threshold test amount is the maximum annual qualifying income for a one-person 
household, rounded down to the next lower thousand dollars. 
 
To apply the threshold test, the caseworker compares the gross amount of the self-
employment venture (before expenses) with the threshold test.  If the total annual gross 
self-employment income is less than the threshold test, the caseworker will compute net 
self-employment income using only the prior calendar month. The threshold test method 
will not be used if it results in an over income denial.  The previous 12-month income 
average will be used to determine eligibility in this situation. 

6.9.7.2 Examples of Self-Employment 
 
Examples of self-employed individuals include:  artists, basket weavers, carvers, 
cosmetic sales persons, craft persons, day care providers, fisher persons, grocers, home 
party sales, persons that own and manage rental property, persons providing and charging 
room and board, store keepers, taxi drivers, repair persons, trappers, woodcutters. 
 

6.9.7.3 Allowable Self-Employment Expenses  
 
Allowable expenses are expenses identified as belonging to the self-employment 
enterprise that are necessary, non-personal costs of doing business.  Expenses must have 
been paid within the 12-month income period, and include, but are not limited to: 
 

• wages and benefits paid to other than a household member 
 

• raw materials, stock, supplies 
 

• interest portion of regular payments made for the purchase of income producing 
real estate, capital assets, equipment, machinery or durable goods. 
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• fishing - interest on boat mortgage, groceries for crew, bait, boat fuel, boat 
moorage, vessel insurance, crew wages, boat utility costs, boat repair and 
maintenance, and gear purchase. 

 
• home child care - expenses directly related to the provision of child care such as 

food, toys, supplies, and the cost of transportation of children while in providers’ 
care, etc. 
 

• advertising 
 

• licenses to do business 
 

• mileage and travel expenses directly related to business 
 

• home expenses directly related to the operation of the business 
 

• office rental - allowed only on office space that is located outside the home.  
Home office rent is not
 

 an allowable business expense. 

• telephone 
 

• sales tax 
 

• vehicle expenses if the vehicle is used exclusively for the business 
 

6.9.7.4 Non-Allowable Self-Employment Expenses 
 
Non-allowable expenses
 

 include, but are not limited to: 

• the portion of regular payments on business indebtedness which goes toward the 
principal for the purchase of income producing real estate, capital assets, 
equipment, machinery, or durable goods 

 
• class tuition, unless class is required for line of work (i.e. CPR class tuition for 

child care providers) 
 

• net losses from periods prior to the twelve months used to determine eligibility 
are not allowable.  Self-employment losses for the current 12-month period may 
not be used to offset other income.  Any self-employment loss will be considered 
as zero income. 

 
• federal, state and local income taxes for self  and family 

 
• retirement plans and health insurance for self and family 



 

Page 6-11  (Rev. 10/09) 

 
• work-related personal expenses such as transportation to and from work 

 
• depreciation and amortization 

 
• entertainment 

 
• child care expenses 

 
• payment of wages to another household member 

 
• personal or home expenses which the household would incur regardless of the 

business 

6.9.8 Guidelines for Computing Income 
 
The cents on the final income amounts of 50 cents or more are rounded up to the nearest 
dollar.  Amounts of 49 cents or less are rounded down. 
 
If a household member was self-employed during the prior 12 months, but is no longer 
self-employed, HAP will consider the prior 12-month income unless the self-employed 
person is now legally disabled. 
 
If a household member was seasonally employed during the prior 12 months, but is no 
longer seasonally employed, HAP will consider the prior 12-month income unless the 
seasonally employed person is now legally disabled. 
 
A household may have submitted incomplete income verification or be over income for 
the month of application, but eligible in the subsequent month.  In such cases the 
household does not have to reapply.  The same application is used for the determination 
of eligibility for the subsequent month. 
 
Applications dated or postmarked in the month of April must be determined based upon 
income received in the month of March. 
 
In some cases the application is signed months before it arrives at the HAP.  In these 
cases eligibility is based upon income received during the month prior to the month the 
application was received in the HAP office.  Request a new application if the original was 
received more than two months after the signature date. 
 
Income from all members in the household, including illegal aliens, is counted, except 
earned income from students
 

 under the age of 18, who are not the head of the household. 

All unearned income is counted, unless it is specifically listed in Section 6.9.5 Non-
Countable Income. 
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6.10 Resources 
 
The HAP does not use a resource test; therefore resources are not counted. 

6.11 Over Income 
 
A household with income that exceeds 150 percent of poverty, as computed in Section 
6.9, is ineligible for heating assistance.  
 

• If the household income was based on the prior calendar month, the application is 
denied as “OI” – Over Income. 

 
• If the household income was based on an average of the prior 12-month period, 

the application is denied as “OS” – Over Seasonal/Self-Employed. 
 

6.12 Low Burden 
 
The household’s gross income, household size and estimated annual heating costs are 
used to compute the household’s estimated home heating burden, expressed as a point 
value.  An applicant whose household heating cost points are calculated to be less than 
2.0 is ineligible for heating assistance.  See Sec. 13 for Computation and LB Letter. 
 

6.13 Previously Served –Already Awarded Heating Assistance This Season.   
 
The HAP awards only one heating assistance grant per household during the program’s 
season.  Applications from households in the following situations are denied as “PS” – 
Previously Served. 
 
Household composition is determined at the time of application.  Individuals moving into 
or out of the household after the grant is determined are considered previously served, as 
grants are household not individual based. 
 
An application from a person who received heating assistance as a member of another 
household earlier in the season is ineligible for another heating assistance grant. 
 
An application from a person who is currently residing with a previously served 
household is ineligible for heating assistance. 
 
An application from a household seeking a SRHUD that has received a HAP grant within 
the prior 180 days, or a SRHUD within the prior 24-month period, is ineligible for 
heating assistance. 
 
In cases where households have separated after the award has issued and both adults in 
the household listed on the application request heating assistance separately, HAP must 
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contact the vendors to determine if there is a heating assistance credit remaining on the 
account.  If so, the HAP caseworker should instruct the vendor(s) to freeze the balance 
and not issue any further product to the household until they receive written instructions 
from the HAP.  The HAP caseworker will then prepare letters to the original vendors, 
both adults involved and any new vendors instructing the original vendors to forward half 
of the frozen balance to the vendors designated by the member who left the household 
(the client will need to provide proof of an account at a new location).  
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6.14 Denial Notice-of-Action Reason Codes and Text 
 

We regret that your application for Heating Assistance has been DENIED. 
AW The reason is that your application was withdrawn.  If your circumstances change, your case may be 

redetermined anytime before April 30th.  To reapply please call or write to the office shown above, or visit a 
fee agent.  You will need to provide income information for the most recent month.  If you reapply, send the 
application to the attention of your caseworker.  Your case cannot be redetermined after the April 30 filing 
deadline. 

IA The reason is that your application was incomplete and you did not respond to our request for information.  
If your circumstances change, your case may be redetermined anytime before April 30th.  To reapply please 
call or write to the office shown above, or visit a fee agent.  You will need to provide income information 
for the most recent month.  If you reapply, send the application to the attention of your caseworker.  Your 
case cannot be redetermined after the April 30 filing deadline.  You did not supply  .........    . 

LB The reason is that your household does not meet the eligibility requirement for a grant.  Eligibility for 
heating assistance is based on an “energy burden” point system which considers your type of housing, fuel 
costs in your area, household size and income.  A household must have a minimum of 2.0 heating cost 
points to qualify.  Your household’s heating cost points were calculated to be 0.75.  If your circumstances 
change, your case may be redetermined anytime before April 30th.  To reapply please call or write to the 
office shown above, or visit a fee agent.  You will need to provide income information for the most recent 
month.  If you reapply, send the application to the attention of your caseworker.  Your case cannot be 
redetermined after the April 30 filing deadline. 

NC The reason is you do not pay for home heating.  If your circumstances change, your case may be 
redetermined anytime before April 30th.  To reapply please call or write to the office shown above, or visit a 
fee agent. You will need to provide income information for the most recent month.  If you reapply, send the 
application to the attention of your caseworker.  Your case cannot be redetermined after the April 30 filing 
deadline.   

NT The reason is that your application was neither received nor postmarked by April 30th.  That deadline, set by 
regulation, is indicated on the application.  We have recorded your name and address, and will be sending 
you an application for next year’s program in the fall. 

OF The reason is the Heating Assistance Program ran out of grant funds.  Applications are processed on a first 
come, first served basis per (7 AAC 44.080(n)).  Grant funds were exhausted prior to the date your 
application was received.  We have kept your name and address, and will send you an application for next 
year’s program in the fall. 

OI The reason is that your household income is over the maximum allowed.  Your household’s one month 
income was calculated to be $1,800.00.  This exceeds the allowable maximum of $1,494.00.  If your 
circumstances change, your case may be redetermined anytime before April 30th.  To reapply please call or 
write to the office shown above, or visit a fee agent.  You will need to provide income information for the 
most recent month.  If you reapply, send the application to the attention of your caseworker.  Your case 
cannot be redetermined after the April 30 filing deadline. 

OS The reason is that your household income is over the maximum allowed.  Your household’s average 
monthly income for the prior 12 months was calculated to be $1,800.00.  This exceeds the allowable 
maximum of $1,494.00.  If your circumstances change, your case may be redetermined anytime before 
April 30th.  To reapply please call or write to the office shown above, or visit a fee agent.  You will need to 
provide income information for the most recent month.  If you reapply, send the application to the attention 
of your caseworker.  Your case cannot be redetermined after the April 30 filing deadline. 

OT The reason is 
 * This is a field you fill in manually by selecting “List Denial Notes” through the Actions 
menu. *  
 * Don’t forget or your denial will go out without a reason and we surely don’t want that. 
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 * 
If your circumstances change, your case may be redetermined anytime before April 30th.  To reapply please 
call or write to the office shown above, or visit a fee agent.  You will need to provide income information 
for the most recent month.  If you reapply, send the application to the attention of your caseworker.  Your 
case cannot be redetermined after the April 30 filing deadline. 

PS The reason is that your household has already been helped this year. 
SR The reason is that you live in subsidized rental housing which pays your heating costs.  We do not assist 

households in this type of housing unless you pay directly for your home heat and your annual unsubsidized 
heating costs exceed $200.  If you have questions about heating costs in your rental housing, contact your 
housing manager.  If your circumstances change, your case may be redetermined anytime before April 30th.  
To reapply please call or write to the office shown above, or visit a fee agent.  You will need to provide 
income information for the most recent month.  If you reapply, send the application to the attention of your 
caseworker.  Your case cannot be redetermined after the April 30 filing deadline. 

UD The reason is you do not qualify for a Subsidized Rental Housing Utility Deposit.  If you have questions 
about this denial, please call or write to the office shown above. 
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7 Determining Benefit Level  
 
The Detailed HAP Benefit Computation Schedule is included in Section 13.  

7.1 Application Update 
 
The presence of a child under age 6 in the household is an important factor in 
determining the benefit level.  The caseworker will verify that the count of children under 
age 6 is entered correctly.  The age is based on the child’s age as of the date the 
application was signed.  

7.2 Assistance Categories 
 
The presence of an individual that is over age 60, or is legally disabled, is an important 
factor in determining the benefit level.  The caseworker will verify that this information 
is indicated. 
 
The caseworker enters a “Y” for all applicable Assistance Categories: 

• Veteran’s Benefits 
• Food Stamps 
• ATAP/ASAP 
• Disabled 
• Supplemental Security Income 
• Adult Public Assistance 
• Elderly - the “Y” is automatically entered from the birth date typed in at 

application entry.  If the caseworker entered or corrected the birth date, the “Y” 
must be manually entered as appropriate. 

• UIB - instead of entering a “Y,” the worker enters the number of household 
members receiving Unemployment Insurance Benefits in that checkbox on the 
grant worksheet.   

7.3 Household Size and Composition 
 
The household composition is an important factor in determining an applicant’s 
eligibility and grant amount.   If the household composition is not clearly indicated in the 
application, and cannot be ascertained through the EIS, the application will be pended for 
this information. 
 
If the applicant lists a child in the household that was served in another household, the 
child may be served again.  This usually occurs when child custody is shared. 
 
All U.S. Citizens and Qualified Aliens residing in the household at the time of application 
are included when computing the household size.  If a person who contributed financial 
support for the month prior to the application date is no longer in the household, the 
person is not counted.   A person moving into the household prior to the grant 
determination is included as a household member. 
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If the applicant lists another household member as a house sharer in Question #4 of the 
application, the individual(s) that comprise the other household are not included in the 
applicant’s household size. 
 
An applicant’s spouse living in the applicant’s dwelling must be included in the 
applicant’s household.  The spouse cannot be considered as a house sharer. 
See  also, Sec. 7.7 House Percent Share, 9.3 Multiple Households and 9.4 House 
Sharers  

7.4 Household Income 
 
The household income is an important factor in determining an applicant’s eligibility and 
grant amount.   If the household’s income is not clearly indicated in the application, and 
cannot be ascertained through the other information resources available to the HAP, the 
application will be pended for this information. 

The caseworker enters the household’s total gross income as computed and verified in 
Section 8. 
 
If the household’s gross monthly income exceeds the maximum allowable, the HAS flags 
the case as “OI” – Over Income. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 

Page 7-3  (Rev. 10/09) 

7.5 Housing Situation 
 
As indicated below, the number of bedrooms or mobile home dimensions may be an 
important factor in determining an applicant’s eligibility and grant amount.  If this 
information is not clearly indicated in the application, is needed to select the correct 
housing category, and is not available from a prior year HAP, the application will be 
pended for the information.  Fractions of bedrooms are rounded down to the nearest 
whole number.   
 
The caseworker enters the code for the housing category that describes the household’s 
dwelling.  If more than one factor applies, the code listed first is used: 
 

Code Housing Category Factor 
8 Subsidized Rental Housing Utility Deposit N/A 
1 mobile home with heated living space of 980 square feet or more 

 
When square footage is not specified, the caseworker checks first to see if 
the grant amount using the correct number of bedrooms would be the 
same as using mobile home option number 1.  If the grant amount would 
be the same, the caseworker uses the Housing Category for number of 
bedrooms and documents this in <F9> notes. 

1.4 

2 travel trailer or mobile home less than 35 feet in length, or in an RV, 
tent or pickup camper 
 
If the travel trailer has an attached lean-to for extra living space, the code 
for the number of bedrooms is entered instead. 

0.4 

3 one-room dwelling such as a studio apartment, hotel or boarding 
home 
 
Some applicants check the “renting a room” box on the application when 
they are actually renting their own apartment.  If the applicant lists 1 
bedroom: check prior year HAS, pend for clarification of the dwelling, or 
contact the housing authority to determine if there are efficiency or one-
bedroom apartments and the rental prices.  If the applicant lists 2 or more 
bedrooms, use code 7 or 0 based on the number of bedrooms.  

0.15 

4 a boat 0.35 
5 one-bedroom dwelling, or a one-room house or cabin without 

bedrooms 
0.55 

6 three-or-more-bedroom single family, duplex or triplex home 1.3 
7 two-bedroom unit in an apartment building of four or more attached 

units 
0.7 

0 2-bedroom single family, duplex or triplex home; 3 or more bedroom 
unit in an apartment building of four or more attached units. 

1.0 
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7.6 Fuel Type 
 
The primary fuel used to heat the home is an important factor in determining an 
applicant’s eligibility and grant amount.   If the primary heat source is not clearly 
indicated on the application, or if no heating bill has been included, the application will 
be pended for this information. 
 
The fuel types are:   
 

Code Fuel Name 
C Coal 
E Electric 
K Kerosene 
N Natural Gas 
O Oil 
P Propane 
W Wood 

 
For the purposes of identifying the fuel type, it does not matter if the applicant pays for 
their own heat, or has heat included in the rent payment.  

 
If the household uses natural gas and another fuel type for heat, the caseworker will enter 
the fuel type as natural gas. 
 
If the household uses wood or coal for heat, the caseworker must differentiate between 
purchased and self-harvest fuel, based on the type of receipt furnished by the applicant.   
 

• If the household uses self-harvested wood or coal for heat, the caseworker will 
enter the fuel type as wood or coal and enter a “Y” for Self-Harvest. 

• If the household uses purchased wood or coal for heat, the caseworker will 
enter the fuel type as wood or coal and leave the “Self-Harvest” field blank. 

 
See Section 10.2 for Wood Purchase Guidelines 
 

7.7 Housing Percent Share 
 

If the household resides in a single residence with one or more other households, the 
heating cost points are reduced to the household’s proportion of the total number of 
households in the dwelling.  If there are two households, the caseworker enters the 
share as 50%; with three households the share is entered as 33%, etc.  In a house 
sharer situation, a household’s share should never exceed 50%.  The amount each 
household contributes to heat or rent is not considered.   See  also, 9.3 Multiple 
Households and 9.4 House Sharers. 
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7.8 Grant Computation 
 
When all of the above information has been entered into the HAS, the caseworker uses 
the F1 key to compute the household’s benefit amount.   
 
If the household’s total points compute to less than 2.0, the household is denied as “Low 
Burden”.  The calculations used by the computer to make this determination are 
described in the Heating Assistance Benefit Computation in Section 13. 
 
If the housing category is Number 8 (SRHUD), a computer window pops up which 
allows the caseworker to enter the amount of the utility deposit(s), up to a maximum of 
$500.  The grant amount is the amount required by the utility to establish service.  The 
deposit amount is provided by the utility, either via fax or through phone contact with the 
caseworker.  After assigning the grant to the appropriate vendor(s), the caseworker 
records in <F9> notes if the amount was obtained via fax, or notes the name of the 
vendor contact who verified the deposit amount via phone.  The caseworker then enters 
the household in the alert list as a “UD” - Utility Deposit. 
 
The amount of heating assistance may be reduced by the amount of the unpaid balance 
that the household owes the division for previously awarded heating assistance to which 
the household was not entitled.  The HAP uses this method of recoupment of 
overpayments only if the household has not responded to the request for repayment, or 
the household defaults on its repayment agreement.  The caseworker enters “RC” in 
tracking.   
.
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8 Verification Process 
 

8.1 Physical Residence Address 
 
A physical address is needed to ensure the applicant resides in the HAP versus a tribal 
service area, and allows the HAP to determine if multiple applications have been received 
from the same residence.  If the address is not available on EIS or on utility bills, and the 
community has physical addresses, the application is pended for the physical address.  
 Non-acceptable verification:

8.2 Heat or Rent Cost 

 listing “same” as a P.O. Box or General Delivery 
mailing address. 

 
An applicant shows they have a heating cost by one of the following: 
 

• Providing a copy of a heat or electric bill which the applicant is responsible for 
paying.   

 
• A house sitter or caretaker must also indicate the length of time he or she has been 

residing in the dwelling in order to determine if they are responsible for paying a 
cost for heat.  A collateral letter from the homeowner shall be provided for a 
house sitter or caretaker. 

 
• Providing a rent receipt and rental agreement as an indication that they pay for 

heat through the rental payment.  The rental agreement is used to help HAP staff 
determine if the applicant is participating in a subsidized rental housing program, 
and to determine the main source of heat.  Rent receipt and/or rental agreement 
verification is documented in <F9> notes.  It is not necessary to make a copy of 
the rental agreement for the case file. 

 
• Demonstrating that their heating costs exceed their subsidy by over $200 if 

participating in a subsidized rental housing program.  This is done by furnishing 
documentation of the annual heating cost and annual heating subsidy.  Although it 
is the applicant’s responsibility to provide this documentation, it is HAP policy to 
assist applicants in obtaining the necessary information whenever possible.   

 
• Showing that they are directly responsible for paying home heating expenses if 

receiving State of Alaska General Relief for the month of application. 
 

• Information included in EIS or HAS case notes verifying wood heat, if the 
information was obtained within one year of the current HAP application date.  
Contact the Casework Supervisor if uncertain whether or not the information is 
sufficient to make a determination. 
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8.3 Sixty Consecutive Days Residence in Temporary Shelter 
 
The applicant provides a signed and dated letter from someone they know who can verify 
their living situation and can verify that they have been residing in a temporary shelter for 
sixty or more consecutive days. 

8.4 Household Composition 
 
The division verifies household composition through the Division of Public Assistance 
records, or by applicant statement notifying HAP staff of a change in the household. 

8.5 Income  
 
The division reviews and verifies each household's gross income for the month prior to 
application.  Verification may be provided through:  documentary evidence (wage stub, 
award letter, etc.); Division of Public Assistance and Department of Labor records; or 
impartial third parties such as fee agents, village council representatives, or social service 
agencies. 
 
The applicant must document gross income received in the month prior to the month in 
which the application for heating assistance was signed.  For those who are seasonally or 
self-employed the previous 12 month income must be documented.   
 
Due to extenuating circumstances such as death, or medical reasons, etc. the caseworker 
may determine that it is in the client’s best interest to use the signature month rather than 
the prior month.  Note such in <F9> notes as PPJ and why this was done.   

8.5.1 Acceptable Documentation of Income 
 
Adult Public Assistance (OAA, APD, AB) - Division of Public Assistance records 
 Non-acceptable income verification
 

: Statement or phone call from applicant 

Alaska Temporary Assistance Program (ATAP/ASAP) – Division of Public 
Assistance records, ASAP or TANF records or check stubs 
 Non-acceptable income verification
 

: Statement or phone call from applicant 

Alimony and Child Support - Benefit information may be available from Child Support 
Services Division, check stubs, court order showing amount awarded, statement from 
applicant 
 
BIA General Assistance - Check stub, letter from BIA office 
 Non-acceptable income verification
 

: Statement or phone call from applicant 
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Bingo/Pull Tab Winnings  - Bingo/Pull Tab Statement, letter from game provider 
 Non-acceptable income verification

 

: Statement or phone call from applicant, phone 
call from fee agent or game provider  

Cashouts of Retirement or Pension  - Benefit statement letter, year-end statement, 
current pay stubs showing gross amount 
 Non-acceptable income verification
 

: Statement or phone call from applicant 

Dividends  - Bank statement to verify dividend 
 Non-acceptable income verification
 

: Statement or phone call from applicant 

General Relief  - Division of Public Assistance records 
 Non-acceptable income verification
 

: Statement or phone call from applicant 

Interest  - Bank statement to verify interest income 
 Non-acceptable income verification
 

: Statement or phone call from applicant 

Pension (other than Veteran’s Benefits)  - Benefit statement letter, year end statement 
 Non-acceptable income verification

 

: Bank statement, statement or phone call from 
applicant 

Rental Income  - Rental Agreement showing amount of rental income, rent receipts, last 
year’s HAP case  
 Non-acceptable income verification
 

: Statement or phone call from applicant 

Social Security  - Year-end statement, benefit award letter, Social Security office 
(SVES), Division of Public Assistance records, last year’s HAP case 
 Non-acceptable income verification

 

:  Bank statement, phone call/statement from 
applicant 

Student Loans/Grants  - Award Letters for Pell Grants and Stafford Loans, billing 
statements, statement from applicant 
 
Supplemental Security  - Current year end statement, benefit statement letter, Social 
Security office (SVES), Division of Public Assistance records, last year’s HAP case 
 Non-acceptable income verification

 

:  Bank statement, phone call/statement from 
applicant, check stub 

Tips or Gratuities  - Pay stubs (originals, copies, fax) that list the tips, statement from 
applicant, EIS case notes 
 
Unemployment Insurance  - Department of Labor records, check stubs from other states 
 Non-acceptable income verification
 

: Statement or phone call from applicant 

Veteran’s Benefits  - Benefit statement letter, bank statement, benefit information may 
be available through the toll free number:  1-800-827-1000  
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Or on line at www.va.gov 
 Non-acceptable income verification
 

: Statement or phone call from applicant 

Wages  - Pay stubs from the prior month (originals, copies, fax), letter or work statement 
from employer showing gross wages and issue date/pay period, seasonal work statement 
from employer, final settlement statement for fishermen, fishermen (crew) 1099 
 Non-acceptable income verification

 

:  pay stubs, deposit slips or letter showing net 
wages, statement/phone call from applicant, income tax returns (unless self-
employed), W-2 forms (unless seasonally employed) 

Worker’s Compensation  - Check stubs, letter, fax or e-mail from Worker’s 
Compensation office 
 Non-acceptable income verification
 

:  statement or phone call from applicant 

8.5.2 Little or No Income 
 
An applicant with little or no income must indicate how basic living expenses are being 
met.  Income information should be verified on EIS and on the Department of Labor 
network. 
 
If there is conflicting information on the application, EIS, or Department of Labor 
network, the application must be pended for clarification. 
 
If an applicant is receiving Food Stamps and their gross countable income is zero for the 
previous month, no other income verification is required. 
 
If there is no indication of how an applicant is meeting basic living expenses, reports little 
or no income, is not receiving Food Stamps, and has no explanation in HAS prior year 
<F9> case notes, the application is pended for more information. 
 
Collateral contacts may be requested of the applicant to explain how basic living 
expenses are being met.  A Collateral Contact Statement is a statement from a third party 
that addresses the household’s income situation and that supports the applicant’s claim of 
little or no income.  The statement should also explain how the applicant is meeting 
living expenses.  Collateral letters must contain the author’s name, address, and phone 
number. 
 

8.5.3 Verification of Self-Employment Income 
 
A signed, itemized profit and loss statement must be provided.  (Blank profit and loss 
forms are available in the HAP office.)  The profit and loss statement should contain an 
itemized listing, in date order, of all business-related income and expenses for the prior 
12-month period.  The statement must be signed by the self-employed individual.  It is 
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not necessary for the applicant to submit receipts or have the profit and loss statement 
notarized. 
 
Income tax form 1040 and Schedule C from the prior calendar year is required for those 
with self-employment income. 
 
Self-employed fishermen may send a copy of a Settlement Sheet to verify fishing income.  
Self-employed crew members may send a 1099 form to verify fishing income. 
 
Self-employment income can never be counted as less than zero.  Self-employment 
expenses can only be used to offset self-employment income.  If there is no self-
employment income, expenses are not allowed.  Loss from one business venture cannot 
be deducted from the income of another business venture.  If there is more than one self-
employment venture, each is considered separately. 

8.5.4 Inadequate Income Documentation 
 
When a household’s income is not verified by the applicant or cannot be verified from 
the previously mentioned sources, the caseworker must request additional information.   
 
If a household’s expenses exceed income by a considerable amount, no past-due bills are 
evident, and no explanation of how the applicant is meeting living expenses is provided, 
the caseworker must request additional information. 

8.5.5 Alternate Month to Determine Eligibility 
 
An applicant may request that their application be determined using a month other than 
the month of application. 
 
• If the case has not yet been processed, deny the application as “Application 

Withdrawn” and advise the applicant to reapply.  
• If the case has already been approved, it cannot be re-determined. 
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9 Cases Requiring Specialized Procedures 

9.1 HAS Alerts 
 

When the caseworker enters her initials into HAS, or opens the grant calculation screen 
using <F5>, the computer system may pop up an alert window.  This window alerts the 
caseworker that the household may be ineligible, or that there is information that the 
caseworker needs to be aware of in processing the case.  The alert list includes: 

 
Alert 
Code 

 
Reason 

 
Description 

AN Alaska Native 
an Alaska Native or American Indian household served 
by a LIHEAP tribal provider. 

FR Fraud 

the applicant has provided fraudulent information in the 
past and may have a prior grant debt to repay prior to 
receiving another HAP grant. Consult with the supervisor 
when you see this alert. 

NG Natural Gas 

eligibility in alert year should have been based on gas 
heat.  Check the address where client was living in the 
year with the alert.  If living at the same address, 
determine as gas heat. 

RC Recoupment 

the applicant owes HAP money from a grant they 
received that was for the incorrect amount.  The amount 
owed can be deducted from future HAP benefits.  
Consult with the supervisor when you see this alert. 

SE Subsidized Eligible 
the applicant lives in subsidized rental housing, but met 
the program eligibility requirements. 

SH 
Subsidized Housing 

(AHFC) 
the applicant lives in AHFC administered subsidized 
rental housing or receives a Section 8 subsidy. 

SR 
Subsidized Rental 

Housing 

the applicant lives in subsidized rental housing and is 
ineligible for HAP per our determination or applicant 
statement.  The housing list is maintained at: 

TR 

h:\users\hap\shared\wp\lists\sublst.doc 

Tracking 

there is information about this applicant of which the 
caseworker should be aware.  Look in the case notes for 
the year specified in the alert. Review the information 
that caused the alert. 

UD Utility Deposit the household has received a SRHUD 
 

To add an alert to a case in HAS: 
 

• Select Ineligibles from the Main Menu.  A pop-up screen will appear.  Enter the 
requested information with the Source Code chosen from the Reasons listed 
above. 

• Enter the FY that the alert relates to. 
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• Add a note using <F9>.  The first word of the note should be TRACKING, or 
whichever reason applies to the situation.  Enter the entire words in capital letters. 

• Review the information for accuracy.  Inaccurate information will not generate 
the alert as intended. 

• The caseworker will enter a <F9> case note into the case that generated the alert, 
to acknowledge that the alert was researched. 

9.2 Subsidized Heat and Application Processing 
 
Applications involving subsidized heat are handled in the following manner. 
 

9.2.1 Subsidized Housing Alert - SH 
 
If the heat is included in the rent, the application is denied with reason code SR.  The 
caseworker records in <F9> Notes:  “SH per AHFC, heat included” 
 
If the applicant pays directly for heating costs, the caseworker determines if she is in 
AHFC Low Rent or AHFC Section 8 housing.  The AHFC Low Rent housing list is 
located at:  H:\Users\Hap\Shared\AHFC\lowrent.xls
 

.   

• If the applicant is listed on the Low Rent list, the application is denied with reason 
code SR.  The caseworker records in <F9> Notes:  “SH AHFC LR” 

 
• If the applicant is not listed on the Low Rent list and pays directly for heat, the 

caseworker follows the procedures described in Section 9.2.3.   
 

9.2.2 Subsidized Rental Housing Alert - SR or SR and
 

 SH 

The caseworker determines if the applicant is in the same residence as the year in which 
she was previously determined “SR”. 
 

 

If the applicant has moved, the caseworker disregards the “SR” and removes the alert 
from the alert list.   

If the applicant is in the same residence as the year in which she was determined “SR”, 
the application is denied with reason code SR. 
 
The caseworker records in <F9> Notes: “SR, name of complex” or “SR per applicant”  
 
The alert should not be updated. 
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9.2.3 Subsidized Eligible Alert–SE (SH Section 8 with Direct Heat Costs) 
 
The applicant resides in subsidized rental housing but pays directly for heat and may 
qualify for the HAP.   
 
The caseworker determines if the applicant is in the same residence as the year in which 
she was previously determined “SE”. 
 

 

If the applicant has moved, the caseworker disregards the “SE” and removes the alert 
from the alert list.   

If the applicant is in the same residence as the year in which she was determined “SE”, or 
has an “SH” Section 8 alert and has direct heat costs, the caseworker simultaneously 
pends the application and requests a copy of the contract screen from AHFC or the tenant 
utility worksheet from the housing program (if the applicant has not provided it).  The 
caseworker reviews the contract screen/worksheet to determine if: 
 

• The household actually pays directly for home heating costs, and 
• The household’s Total Family Contribution (TFC) exceeds 30% of adjusted 

income by more than $17

 

 monthly ($200 annually).  Another way to state this 
is that Gross Rent (rent + utilities) exceeds the Payment Standard (30% of 
adjusted income + the maximum subsidy) by more than $17 monthly. 

The caseworker obtains a copy of the contract screen and utility breakdown from AHFC, 
or the utility worksheet from the housing program (if the applicant has not provided it), 
and determines if the household’s annual heating cost exceeds the annual heat subsidy by 
over $200. 
 

9.2.4 Annual Heating Cost Does Not Exceed Heat Subsidy By Over $200 
 
If the Total Family Contribution (TFC) does not exceed 30% of adjusted income by more 
than $17 the caseworker denies the application with reason code SR.   
 
The caseworker records in <F9> Notes: “SR, TFC does not exceed by > $17.” 
 
The caseworker enters or updates the Alert list:  “SR” and FY (current year)__ Type in 
all CAPS, 
 

9.2.5 Annual Heating Cost Exceeds Annual Heat Subsidy By Over $200 
If the heating cost exceeds the subsidy by over $200 the caseworker writes a note on the 
approval NOA referring the applicant to the weatherization provider for their area.  (HUD 
complexes are not eligible for AHFC weatherization services.) 
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The caseworker records in <F9> Notes:  “SE, annual heat cost of $________ exceeds 
annual heat subsidy of $______ by $_____.  
 
The caseworker enters or updates the Alert list:  “SE” Type in all CAPS, and double 
check the SSN and spelling of the name after entering.   

 

9.2.6 Appears to Reside in Subsidized Rental Housing 
 
Further information is needed if the applicant has not indicated she lives in subsidized 
rental housing, but: 
 
• is not participating in “Mutual Help,” 
• has a rental payment of 30 percent of her income, or  
• has her heat paid by another party. 
 
The caseworker pends for a copy of the lease agreement and the rental worksheet.  If the 
response to the pend is unclear, the caseworker calls the landlord to learn about fuel type 
and to determine if they have subsidized rentals.  The worker shall not identify the 
applicant or the specific unit unless authorized by the applicant. 
 

9.2.7 Applicant Requests Review of Subsidized Rental Denial 
 
If the applicant requests a review of the SR denial, the caseworker obtains the breakdown 
of the utility allowance: 
 

• For AHFC Section 8 housing and southeast area Low Rent – information is 
available from Juneau AHFC office. 

• For AHFC Low Rent housing in other areas of the state – the Juneau AHFC office 
provides the caseworker with the Preliminary Screen, which provides the Property 
Manager name and phone number.  The caseworker calls (or has the applicant 
call) the Property Manager to obtain the breakdown of the utility allowance.  

• For all other subsidized housing – information must be obtained from the unit’s 
Property Manager.  The native housing authority property manager contact 
information is provided in Section 14.2. 
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Continued on next page: 
The caseworker: 
 

• multiplies the natural gas (or electric) allowance for heat (plus cooking and water 
if same utility vendor) by 12 months to determine the annual subsidy. 

• calls (or has the applicant request written documentation from) the heating vendor 
for the 12-month utility cost for the unit. 

• Determines if the applicant paid more than $200 after subtracting the annual 
utility allowance from the annual heating utility cost. 

• If case determination does not change, prints a new Denial NOA that compares 
the annual heating costs to the utility subsidy.  For example:  “Mary, ENSTAR 
has advised us that your annual heat cost is $ 600, and AHFC shows your annual 
heat subsidy to be $540.  This means your unsubsidized heat cost is $60.”  Note:  
when denying a case that was previously denied, the caseworker must press 
Alt+N in order to schedule a reprint of the NOA.  The NOA will not 
automatically reprint with the second denial. 

• The caseworker records in <F9> Notes:  “not SE, annual heat cost is $________ 
per ENSTAR, annual heat subsidy is $______ per AHFC”. 

 
 
If the applicant is paying more than $200 over the utility subsidy amount, proceeds with 
processing the application, following the procedures described in Section 9.2.5. 
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9.2.8 Examples of Subsidized Housing Screens and Worksheets 
 

 
Example:  No Direct Home Heating Costs 

Deny application using reason code “SR”. 
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Example:  Subsidized Eligible Household #1 

The household’s Gross Rent exceeds the Payment Standard by more than $16 monthly 
($200 annually).  Proceed with application processing. 
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Example:  Subsidized Eligible Household #2 

The Gross Rent exceeds the Payment Standard by more than $16 monthly ($200 
annually).  Proceed with application processing. 
 

 
 
Continued on next page: 
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Example:  Subsidized Eligible Household #3 

The Gross Rent exceeds the Payment Standard by more than $16 monthly ($200 
annually).  Proceed with application processing. 
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Example:  Heat Appears to Be Fully Subsidized #1 

As the Payment Standard covers the Gross Rent, the tenant’s heat appears fully 
subsidized.  To be eligible the applicant must have annual unsubsidized heating costs that 
exceed $200 annually ($17 or more monthly).  Deny application using reason code “SR”. 
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Example:  Heat Appears to Be Fully Subsidized #2 

As the Net Tenant Contribution (NTC) including utility allowance is no more than $16 
over 30% of adjusted income, the tenant’s heat appears fully subsidized.  To be eligible 
the applicant must have annual unsubsidized heating costs that exceed $200 annually 
($17 or more monthly).  Deny application using reason code “SR”. 
 

 
 
Continued on next page: 
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Example:  Heat Appears to Be Fully Subsidized #3 

As the Total Tenant Payment (TTP) is no more than $16 over 30% of adjusted income, 
the tenant’s heat appears fully subsidized.  To be eligible the applicant must have annual 
unsubsidized heating costs that exceed $200 annually ($17 or more monthly).  Deny 
application using reason code “SR”. 
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Example:  Heat Appears to Be Fully Subsidized #4 

As the Payment Standard (30% of adjusted income + maximum subsidy) covers the 
Gross Rent (rent + utilities), the tenant’s heat appears fully subsidized.  To be eligible the 
applicant must have annual unsubsidized heating costs that exceed $200 annually ($17 or 
more monthly).  Deny application using reason code “SR”. 
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9.3 Multiple Households Residing in the Same Dwelling 
 
When more than one household is residing in the dwelling, the caseworker must 
determine if the applicant household is: 
 

• renting a room in the dwelling, 
• the owner/occupant who rents out a portion of the dwelling, or 
• sharing the dwelling. 

 
If the applicant checks the application box for “Renting a Room”, the application is 
determined using Housing Category Code 3 (See  Sec. 7.5). 
 
A foster adult not considered a member of the household must be considered a household 
sharer, or room renter. 
 
If the applicant owns the dwelling and is receiving rental income, eligibility is determined 
by counting all rental income, using the Housing Category for the total number of 
bedrooms in the dwelling, and counting the number of people in the applicant’s 
household.  A room renter is not counted as a member of the applicant’s household.  The 
owner/occupant’s rental income may be considered a self-employment venture if the 
applicant chooses to deduct the non-personal costs of doing business. 
 
If the applicant is sharing the dwelling with one or more households, and is neither a 
room renter nor an owner/occupant renting space in the dwelling as described above, the 
households are considered to be house sharers.  Eligibility is determined as described in 
Section  7.7.  The other household members are entered into HAS as described in 
Section 9.4 below. 

9.4 Household Sharers File 
 
If an applicant lists other households as living in the same dwelling, the members of the 
other households must be entered into the computer.  This ensures that each household in 
the dwelling gets their proportionate share of the grant, and if one of the households listed 
as house sharing subsequently applies for a grant the worker can cross reference the 
cases. 
 
The worker adds the members of the sharer household(s) into the case that lists them as a 
sharer. 
 

• The name(s) are added by pressing <F1>, rather than by pressing “enter” which 
would delete the name of the head-of-household. 

 
• The relationship code is listed as HS for house sharer. 
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After the names of the sharers are added to the case, the household size field on the grant 
computation screen is checked to ensure that sharers are not counted as household 
members.   See also, Sec. 7.4  Household Composition and 7.7 Housing Percent 
Share. 

9.5 Pending Applications 
 
When an application is incomplete and the necessary information is not available through 
sources in the HAP office, a notice requesting additional information is sent to the 
applicant.  This request is sent on a Notice of Action form and is known as a pend notice.  
Applicants are given 30 days to respond to a pend notice. 
 
Caseworkers receive a weekly computer list of all cases pended for more than 30 days 
and all cases re-pended for more than 15 days. 
 
If the information requested in the pend notice is received, the caseworker proceeds with 
processing.  If the applicant responds with partial information, this is entered in notes and 
the case is filed.  When the case comes up on the pend list, the application is re-pended. 
 
Applications pended solely for mobile home dimensions are not re-pended.  The 
caseworker determines the grant based using the code for the number of bedrooms in a 
single-family home. 
 
A re-pend notice is sent if partial information was received and more information is 
required to process the application.  The applicant is then given 15 days to respond to the 
re-pend notice.  Applications pended in April or May are re-pended once prior to being 
denied for incomplete application. 
 
If the information is not received within the allotted time frame, the application is denied 
as an incomplete application.  An applicant may re-apply at any time prior to the April 30 
filing deadline. 
 
If the requested information is received within 15 days of the denial date, the application 
can be processed using the original application date.  If the information is received more 
than 15 days after the denial date, the applicant will be required to reapply.      

9.5.1 Reasons for Pending 
 
The pending reasons, as programmed into the HAS, are listed below: 
 

• Unsigned Application 
 
The caseworker sends a copy of the application form and pend notice to the 
applicant for signature and keeps the original application in the file. 
 

• Missing Proof of Income 
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• Missing Self-Employment documentation 

 
• No Visible Means of Support 

 
• Mobile Home dimensions missing. 
 

When square footage is not specified, the caseworker checks first to see if the 
grant amount using the correct number of bedrooms would be the same as using 
mobile home option number 1.  If the grant amount would be the same, the 
caseworker uses the Housing Category for number of bedrooms and documents 
this in <F9> notes.  Applications pended solely for mobile home dimensions are 
not denied.  The caseworker determines the grant based using the code for the 
number of bedrooms in a single-family home. 
 

• Child Support Verification Request 
 
• Wood Heating Verification Request 

 
HAP workers may not choose a vendor for the applicant unless there is only one 
vendor in the village.  If the applicant indicates direct heating expenses, and does 
not list a vendor, the case is pended.  The HAP will not assign a vendor to an 
applicant or indicate any preference among vendors.  However, the HAP may 
share fuel price information for vendors in the area, or encourage applicants to 
contact vendors to compare prices before they choose their vendor.  

 
• Number of Bedrooms Missing 

 
• Who Lives with you 

 
• Other (you will fill in manually) 

 
• Subsidized housing verification 

 
• Temporary Shelter 

 
• Rent Receipt/Agreement Request 

 
• Missing Seasonal Income Proof 

 
• Physical Residence Address Request. 

 
Caseworkers request additional verification if unclear, inconsistent, or contradictory 
information is contained in the application or in the supporting documents. 
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If preprinted pend requests do not apply, the worker selects “other” for the reason and 
types in the needed information. 
 
When information from another source contradicts statements made by the applicant, the 
applicant must be provided an opportunity to clarify the questionable information. 

9.5.2 Reasons for Re-pending 
 
Reasons for re-pending an application are: 
 

• The initial pend notice was unclear. 
 
• Only partial information was received in response to the initial pend. 
 
•  From April 1 through the end of the program year, an application that has already 

been pended and is still incomplete, will be re-pended. 
 

• The applicant is elderly or disabled. 
 

• There are extenuating circumstances in which a re-pend is necessary.  This should 
be documented in case notes. 
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9.5.3 Text for Pend Notice-of-Action 
 
 

 

 
1 

 
2 

 
3 

 
4 

 
5 

 
6 

 
7 

 
8  
9 

 
10 

 
11 

 
12 

 
13  
14 

 
15 
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9.6 Atypical Household Situations 
 

9.6.1 Ionia 
 
Ionia, Inc. is a non-profit organization set up to help mentally disabled individuals.  All 
households have at least one disabled household member in it. Many of these families are 
related.  They are all separate homes and cabins. Some of these residences do not have 
electricity yet, but they are working on getting electric hooked up for all the homes.  The 
54932 Burdock Road is a corporate address and mail is distributed to each household.  
The rent is based on the fair market value for a home in that area, not subsidized.  Ionia, 
Inc. also sells wood, but the households are free to shop around for a cheaper price.   
 

9.6.2 Office of Public Advocacy 
 
Applications received from the Office of Public Advocacy are processed in the following 
manner: 
 
The type of residence varies:  group home, renting a room, living in an apartment, etc.   
 
The caseworker will pend for information that is not provided, unless the applicant 
resides at the same physical location as last year and the needed information can be 
obtained.   
 
Power of Attorney (POA) must be provided if the application is not signed by the 
applicant. 
 
The signature on the application must be that of the public advocate or the applicant. 
 
The caseworker will make an <F9> case note to indicate who has the Power of Attorney 
and when it expires (if noted).  This allows next year’s application to be processed when 
the POA is not provided and the application is signed by the same advocate. 
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10 Issuing Benefits 

10.1 Time Frames for Assistance Payments 
 
The program begins awarding payments on November 1 of each year. 
 
Expedited eligibility determination and assistance payment awards begin on November 1 
of each year and run through April 30 of the following year. 
 
If a disaster occurs in an area where the household is located, the division may begin 
issuing heating assistance payments before November 1 if the governor has issued a 
disaster proclamation and the disaster has increased the need for heating assistance to the 
household. 
 
Payments for subsidized rental housing utility deposits (SRHUDs) are made throughout 
the year.  

10.2 Use of Heating Assistance Program (HAP) Payments 
 
A heating assistance payment can only be used for the purchase of: 
 

• fuel oil, kerosene, propane, natural gas, electricity, wood, coal, or other petroleum 
products used for home heating, lighting, or cooking needs;  

 
• payment of incidental charges, including deposits, delivery charges, connection 

fees, and late-payment charges associated with their purchase or delivery; 
 

• rental payments if the household pays home heating costs indirectly through rent; 
 
If a community is out of fuel, HAP recipients may use a small portion of their oil grant to 
purchase gasoline to travel to a neighboring community to procure fuel.  If this situation 
arises, the caseworker notifies the Vendor Coordinator who will discuss the situation with 
the affected fuel vendors. 
 
A household may use a portion of their oil grant to purchase one bottle of propane for 
cooking or lights. 
 
A household may use up to 25 % of their heating grant to purchase gasoline if the 
household generates their own electricity.   
 
A household cannot use a portion of their oil grant to purchase gas to self-harvest wood. 
 
Ethyl Glycol cannot be purchased with HAP grant funds.  It is used as anti-freeze.  
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10.3 Distribution of Grant Between Home Heating and Electricity 
 
After the grant amount has been determined the grant distribution is made.  Home heating 
is the priority.  Typically, seventy-five percent of the grant is issued for home heating 
with the remaining 25 percent issued for electricity.  Exceptions to the 75/25 guideline 
are as follows: 

 
• The entire grant is paid to the primary heat source if requested by the applicant, if 

the applicant checks “no” on application question number 21, or if the applicant 
owes more than the total grant amount to the fuel company. 

 
• The applicant’s expenses and income are considered in making grant distribution 

decisions.  If the applicant has income, could reasonably pay the electric bills, and 
the heat is not

 

 electric, a portion for electricity should only be given if the 
applicant requested it. 

• The entire grant is issued to the electric company if electricity is the primary heat 
source. 

 
• If an applicant has an electric disconnect, the minimum amount needed to 

maintain service is authorized to the electric company. 
 
• If the applicant does not pay for heat directly, but does pay for electricity, up to 

one year’s worth of credit is issued to electricity based upon an average winter bill 
(take 3 winter months X 4).   

 
• If the grant amount is $170 or less, the grant is not split unless there are 

extenuating circumstances. 
 
• Any other exception to the 75/25 guideline is made on a case by case basis after 

consultation with the Casework Supervisor. 
 
The caseworker documents the reasoning for exceptions to the 75/25 guideline in notes. 

10.4 Methods of Payment 

10.4.1 Vendor Payment 
 
In most cases, payment is issued directly to the applicant’s vendor(s), who credits the 
payment to the household’s account. 
 
If an applicant’s oil service is in the landlord’s name (and this service is solely for the 
applicant’s dwelling) the grant is issued to the oil vendor under the applicant’s name.  
The grant is not issued under the landlord’s name. 
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Vendor payments are made only to vendors listed in the HAS, which means that they 
have signed a vendor agreement with the Division of Public Assistance, Heating 
Assistance Program, and agree to the conditions contained in the agreement. 
 
HAP vendors must avert disconnection of service, reconnect discontinued service, or 
deliver fuel upon notification from HAP that the household is entitled to receive heating 
assistance.  
 
Applicants do not have the option to request a direct cash payment in order to “shop 
around for the best fuel price”.  The applicant must name the vendor from whom they 
intend to purchase the fuel.  

10.4.2 Direct Payment (DP) 
 
Payment is issued directly to the applicant if the household: 
 

• is paying home heating and electricity costs indirectly through rent, 
 
• is cutting their own wood (unless they list a native village store as vendor in order 

to buy gas for the chainsaw), 
 
• is purchasing wood from a vendor that has not signed a HAP vendor agreement, 
 
• is purchasing oil or propane from the local gas station, 
 
• is paying heating costs directly to their landlord, 
 
• has electricity as the primary heat source and has a grant in an amount which is 

insufficient to restore disconnected service. 
 
Direct payments are not issued in response to an applicant’s request to “shop around for 
the best price”. 

10.4.3 Vendor Payment and Direct Payment 
 
A portion of the grant amount is issued to the applicant's home electricity vendor and the 
remainder to the applicant if the household pays home heating costs indirectly through 
rental payments, but pays directly for home electricity.  

10.4.4 Two-Party Payment (2P) 
 

A two-party payment is a check mailed to the applicant but made payable to both the 
applicant and a vendor or another person.  A two-party payment is issued if the vendor is 
not listed in the HAS (does not have a signed HAP vendor agreement). 
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10.4.5 Applicant and Vendor 
 
A two-party payment is issued to the applicant and the vendor if: 
 

• The applicant indicates she wants to purchase wood but has no prior wood receipt. 
 
• the specified vendor is not a participating vendor, or 
 
• the applicant states that she pays for heat and lights, the accounts are not in her 

name, and  the caseworker is unable to ascertain the account number. 

10.4.6 Applicant and Another Adult in the Household 
 
A two-party payment is issued to the applicant and another adult in the household if there 
are two non-related adults in the household and: 
 

• heat or electricity is included in the rent, or 
 
• the household heats with wood or coal. 

 
The payment is made out to both adults to insure that they are both aware of the grant. 

10.4.7 Applicant and Landlord 
 
A two-party payment is issued to the applicant and the landlord only under special 
circumstances, as many applicants do not want their landlord to know that they have 
applied for assistance.  Consequently, issuance of two-party checks may violate the 
applicant’s confidentiality.  Two-party payments involving the landlord are only issued 
when two

 
 of the following conditions are met: 

• an applicant’s heat is included in the rent, 
 

• there is an eviction notice or the threat of action taken because of non-
payment to the landlord,  
 

• the applicant has involved the landlord in the application process, who 
therefore became aware of the situation by direct contact with the applicant. 

10.5 Entering Grant Payment Information Into the HAS 
 

When entering grant payment information into the HAS use: 
 
Line 1 - primary heating fuel 
Line 2 - electric or secondary fuel 
Line 3 - additional fuel (second electric meter, propane for cooking) 
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Line 4 - direct payment to applicant (or additional two-party payment) 
Line 5 - two-party payment 
 
If the grant is being issued entirely to electricity and the household has a different 
primary heat source, the caseworker will note this case on the grant exception log, in the 
event that a supplemental payment is issued later in the season. 
 
It is very important that account numbers are listed for vendor payments.  If a payment 
is issued to an account that is not in the applicant’s name, the account number is entered 
if available.  If the account number is not available, the last name is entered on the 
account in the account number field.  The caseworker makes an <F9> case note to 
explain the reason for applying a payment to an account not in the applicant’s name.  The 
note includes the name of the person listed on the account and the relationship to the 
applicant, if known. 
 
A Notice of Action is generated to both the applicant and the vendor(s) following the 
final computer entry. 

10.6 Grant Payment Maintenance 
 
HAP warrants are issued two days after the paid date indicated on the HAS F2 Payment 
Screen.  All direct payment warrants are mailed.  Vendor payments may be either mailed 
or made by electronic fund transfer.  There is no option for customer pick-up and under 
no circumstance is a recipient to be directed to the location where warrants are printed 
and mailed. 
 

10.6.1 Bad Debt 
 
Grant funds can be used to pay the oldest portion of an outstanding bill.  In most 
instances the caseworker can negotiate with the vendor to use part of the grant to resolve 
the urgent need and the remainder to cover part of the debt. 
 

10.6.2 Grant Changes 
 
Check the HAS F2 Payment Screen before making any changes to an existing grant.  If 
the grant status is “Pending” on the F2 screen, the grant has not yet been paid out to the 
vendor.  Take the case file to the Casework Supervisor to proceed with changing the 
grant.  If the change is not made the same day it was entered, the client and vendor 
NOA’s should be found and voided, if not already mailed. 
 
If the grant status is “Paid” on the F2 screen, take the case file to the Accounting 
Technician prior to making any changes to the grant. 
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10.6.3 Grant Transfers 
 
As the primary focus of the HAP is home heat, a request to transfer some of the grant 
balance from heat to electricity are accommodated only if the recipient has an electrical 
disconnect notice.  In this circumstance, only the amount needed to stop the disconnect is 
transferred.   
 
A recipient requesting to transfer some of his grant balance because the household has a 
broken furnace is referred to their weatherization provider.  The caseworker follows up 
by calling the weatherization provider directly to describe the situation. 
 
A recipient requesting to transfer some of his grant balance from oil to wood is advised 
that his case must first be re-determined as a wood grant, and what the new amount 
would be.  If there would still be a balance available after re-determination and the 
recipient wants to proceed the caseworker: 
 

• Re-determines the grant and contacts the vendor to see how much of the oil grant 
is left, 

• requests the vendor refund the balance of the grant, 
• documents in <F9> case notes all that transpired and what to do with the refund. 

 
The vendor coordinator processes the refund when it arrives according to the instructions 
in <F9> case notes. 
 
The HAP will contact the vendor to request the grant be transferred to another vendor, if 
the household has moved outside the vendor’s service territory.  
 
A recipient moving to another dwelling in which the heat and electricity are included in 
the rent will have their grant refunded and issued to them as a direct payment. 
 
If the household moves without closing their account or leaving a forwarding address, the 
vendor refunds any remaining HAP credit to the state. 
 
In cases where households have separated after the award has been issued and both adults 
in the household listed on the application request heating assistance separately, HAP 
must:  
 

• contact the vendors to determine if there is a heating assistance credit remaining 
on the account.  If so, the HAP caseworker instructs the vendor(s) to freeze the 
balance and not issue any further product to the household until they receive 
written instructions from the HAP.   

• The HAP caseworker will then prepare letters to the original vendors, both adults 
involved and any new vendors instructing the original vendors to forward half of 
the frozen balance to the vendors designated by the member who left the 
household (the client will need to provide proof of an account at a new location).  
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10.6.4 Deceased Household Member 
 
If a household member dies, the remaining credit balance can be used by the remaining 
household members. 
 
If there are no other household members, the vendor refunds the remaining credit to the 
HAP.  The remaining credit balance can be used by the estate to pay heating or electric 
service expenses incurred by the individual prior to her death. 
 
If the applicant, who is the sole household member dies prior to the date the case is 
processed, the caseworker may contact the heat and electric vendors to see if there is 
unpaid debt.  If so, the caseworker will issue the grant up to the amount needed to pay the 
debt.  The case will be left “out of balance” if the grant exceeds the debt.  The caseworker 
will change the last action code on the case to “X”.   
 
When a household member dies in the month of application, the caseworker will 
determine whether the household will benefit better by using the signature month rather 
than the prior month’s income due to the change in circumstance.   
 

10.6.5 Dissolution of Household 
 
In cases where households have been dissolved after the award has been issued and both 
adults in the household listed on the application request heating assistance separately, 
HAP must contact the vendors to determine if there is a heating assistance credit 
remaining on the account.  If so, the HAP caseworker should instruct the vendor(s) to 
freeze the balance and not issue any further product to the household until they receive 
written instructions from the HAP.  The HAP caseworker will then prepare letters to the 
original vendors, both adults involved and any new vendors instructing the original 
vendors to forward half of the frozen balance to the vendors designated by the member 
who left the household (the client will need to provide proof of an account at a new 
location).   
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11 Hearings 
 
An opportunity for a fair hearing must be granted to an applicant who requests a hearing 
within 30 days of the mailing of the notice of action.  The hearing can be requested in 
writing or by telephone. 
 
Applicants requesting a fair hearing should first be directed to their caseworker.  The 
caseworker notes the date of the initial fair hearing request in <F9> case notes.  It is 
important to be aware that case notes are a part of the file, which may be provided to the 
applicant and the fair hearing officer.  All notes must be professional and without 
extensive abbreviations. 

The caseworker reviews the information and factors used to determine eligibility and/or 
grant amount with the applicant and proceeds in one of the following three ways: 

• The applicant agrees that the factors used to determine her case are correct and 
states that she has decided not to pursue the fair hearing.  In this situation the 
caseworker documents the conversation in <F9> case notes. 

• Further information provided by the applicant appears to change the earlier 
determination on the case.  If so, the caseworker reviews the case with the 
Casework Supervisor prior to re-determining the case.  All conversations and 
actions are documented in <F9> case notes. 

• If the applicant continues to disagree with the action taken on her case the 
caseworker brings the case file to the Casework Supervisor.  All conversations 
with the applicant and the basis/reason for the fair hearing request must be 
documented in <F9> notes.  The Casework Supervisor will review the eligibility 
determination on the case again, and then forward the file to the Project Assistant. 
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12 Administrative Policies and Procedures 
 

12.1 Non-Discrimination 
 
In accordance with Title VI of the U.S. Civil Rights Act of 1964, Federal regulations and 
Alaska law, no individual shall, on the grounds of age, race, sex, color, religious creed, 
political beliefs, national origin or physical ability, be excluded from participation in the 
Heating Assistance Program, be denied the benefits of this program, or be otherwise 
subjected to discrimination under the administration of the Heating Assistance Program. 

12.2 Confidentiality 
 
All information about an applicant must remain confidential.  Discussing a case with a 
co-worker in order to complete a determination is acceptable.  Discussing a case with 
another DPA employee involving a family member or friend is not acceptable. 
Discussing a case with a friend/acquaintance outside of the office is not
 

 acceptable. 

All written information which specifically identifies an applicant must be properly stored 
in the appropriate file cabinet when not in use, and properly discarded as necessary (i.e. 
shredded, ripped up, burned, or archived.) 
 
Caseworkers must be conscientious about not leaving identifying applicant information 
exposed to office visitors. 
 
Caseworkers must not give applicant information to the applicant’s landlord, or request 
applicant information from a landlord, unless the applicant authorizes it or has listed the 
landlord as a collateral contact.  Many applicants do not want their landlords to know that 
they have applied for heating assistance.  Caseworkers should respect applicant privacy. 
 
The following people may be given information regarding a case, upon request.  Requests 
from people other than those listed must be referred to the Program Coordinator.  
Requests for information from newspaper or radio reporters must always be referred to 
the Program Coordinator. 
 

Applicant

 

  - If an applicant calls to ask for information regarding their HAP case, 
the worker should ask the person to identify themselves by providing their Social 
Security number before revealing any information.  The worker must ensure that 
the information the caller provides matches the information on the application. 

Concerned Agency Representatives, Friends, Interpreters

 

  -  Information may be 
given to third party representatives only if the applicant has authorized their 
participation and there is a justifiable reason why this person is intervening (i.e. 
language barrier, hearing disorder, disability, etc.). 
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Fee Agent and Department of Public Assistance (DPA) Employees

 

  -  
Caseworkers may answer questions from DPA representatives regarding specific 
applications. 

Legislator or Legislator’s Staff

 

  -  Requests for case specific information in 
response to a constituent request may be answered by the caseworker.  The 
Program Coordinator should be informed about the contact. 

Ombudsman’s Office

 

  -  Requests for case specific information may be answered 
by the caseworker.  The Program Coordinator should be informed about the 
contact.  All other Ombudsman calls should be referred to the Program 
Coordinator. 

Vendor  -  If a vendor calls to ask if one of their customers has applied for heating 
assistance, the answer to that question may be provided.  Information regarding 
payment to that vendor only
 

 may be provided. 

For specific confidentiality rights and responsibilities, refer to Division of Public 
Assistance Administrative Procedures, and Alaska State Statutes 47.05020 
through 47.05.030, and Alaska Administrative Codes 7 AAC 37.010 through 7 
AAC 37.130. 

 

12.3 Prudent Person Judgment (PPJ) 
 
The HAP policies and procedures in this manual are intended to be a guide for the 
processing of heating assistance applications.  They are intended to be sufficiently 
flexible to allow caseworkers to exercise reasonable judgment in processing cases.  This 
flexibility is provided because of the impossibility of writing procedures that would cover 
every conceivable circumstance a worker might encounter when determining eligibility. 
 
The term “prudent person judgment” refers to the judgments made by an individual in a 
given situation.  In making an eligibility decision, the caseworker should decide if the 
action is prudent and reasonable based on state regulation, experience and knowledge of 
the program.  If a caseworker encounters a problem case for which they are having a hard 
time making a decision, they should consult the Casework Supervisor or Program 
Coordinator.  Otherwise, it is expected that caseworkers make decisions than can be 
defended as reasonable and prudent, and that they clearly record the reasons for their 
judgments in the Heating Assistance Software (HAS) case notes <F9>. 
 
Problems which are not readily resolved should be brought to the attention of the 
Casework Supervisor or Program Coordinator and discussed at staff meetings in order to 
clarify the policy and update the manual. 
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12.4 Changing Application Information 
 
If the caseworker uses information to process the case that differs with that on the 
application, the “changes” are noted in red ink with the source of the information noted 
(AHFC, EIS, applicant statement, ENSTAR, gas list, etc.). 
 

12.5 Hotline (IVR) File Transfer 
 
The Interactive Voice Response (IVR) file for the DPA Information Hotline is generated 
every weekday after 4:00 p.m.  The Hotline is actually updated with this information by 
the System Operations (SYSOPS) Unit at 6:00 p.m. 
 
Every season caseworkers are assigned primary and back-up responsibility for generating 
the file.  If HAP is operating with both a regular and a disaster data base (such as 
“FISH”), the disaster (FISH) IVR file must be run first.  This allows the disaster data to 
be appended to the regular file and transmitted to SYSOPS as one file. 
 

12.6 Thank You Letters and Notes 
 
Place a copy of all thank-you letters and notes received from HAP customers in the 
“Thank – You Letters” file bin. 
 

12.7 Mysterious Correspondence 
 
Information occasionally arrives that cannot be connected to a case by the computer.  
This information will be placed in the mysterious correspondence basket.  The front desk 
worker enters names on the document as household members to HAS case # 33350 
(53350 for FISH).  When a case is entered that includes one of these names, the 
information is added to the case file. 
 

12.8 Collect and Toll Free Calls 
 
The toll free number is 1-800-470-3058. 
 
Collect calls are not accepted.   

12.9 Processing Applications of Staff, Friends or Relatives 
 
Applications submitted by HAP employees must be processed by the Casework 
Supervisor. 
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Applications received from relatives or close personal friends of Division staff must be 
processed by the Casework Supervisor. 
 

12.10    Caseworker Procedures for Application Processing 

12.10.1    Preliminary Review 
 
1. Caseworker pulls about 10 cases from the filing cabinet.  If there is a FISH HAS, 

these applications are distributed between the caseworkers and processed first. 
 
2. Reviews each application and circles or highlights important information such as:   
 

• type of housing (compute sq ft for mobile homes) 
• number of bedrooms 
• subsidized or not  
• main heat source and who pays for it 
• who pays for electric 
• yes or no to portion to electric 

 
3. Checks for the signature of the applicant and fee agent 
 
4. Writes which month will be used for income 
 
5. Writes how many are in the household 
 
6. Notes if there are children under six 
 
7. Writes her/his initials on page two 
 

12.10.2   Preliminary HAS Review 
 
1. Inputs her/his initials in the case on HAS 
 
2. Checks the addresses and spelling of names, Social Security Numbers and birthdates 

as entered in HAS.  If the caseworker changes a name, a new file label must be 
printed. 

 
3. Checks for physical address (Listing “same” to a P.O. Box or General Delivery 

Address is not an acceptable physical address unless the village has no street 
addresses.) and checks if residence community is different from the mailing address 
community. 

 
4. Checks that the children-under-age-6-count is correct. 
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5. Enters an “F” in the office code if a fee agent assisted in filling out the application. 
 
6. Follows up on any HAS Alerts and if the applicant comes up as a subsidized alert 

“SH” or “SR”, denies the application. 
 

12.10.3   EIS and DOL Review 
 
1. Checks EIS and DOL on each case for income information and to verify household 

composition. 
 
2. Notes on the application that DOL and EIS was checked for all adults. 
 
3. Print whatever is necessary in processing case (it is not necessary to print all screens). 
 

12.10.4   Child Support Services Division (CSSD) Review  
 
1. Checks Child Support Services Division database for income received by the 

household. 
 
2. This review is required for single parent households not receiving income from 

TANF. 
 
3. Print whatever is necessary in processing case. 
 

12.10.5   Determine Eligibility and Issue Grant 
 
1. Gets screen prints from printer or bin and puts them in the appropriate files. 
 
2. Goes through the files one at a time and processes each case.  
 
3. Enters a case note and notifies ET Supervisor if the application is incomplete and was 

signed by a fee agent (include a brief note about what was missing).   
 
4. Documents in notes such items as:  applicant checked none to electric, SSI amount 

verified on SVES, pension or retirement, SSI Disability, Social Security survivor’s 
benefits, rental income, house sharers, electric in someone else’s name, response to 
zero income inquiries, church paying utilities, etc. 

 
5. Notes any questions about the case and sets the case aside. 
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12.10.6  Clarification From Supervisor 
 
1. Gathers her/his cases with questions and brings them to the Casework Supervisor. 
 
2. Leaves a voice or e-mail message with the Casework Supervisor if she is currently 

unavailable and sets the cases aside.   
 

12.10.7  Casework Follow-Up 
 
1. Follows up on pend responses in her/his in-basket, 
 
2. Returns voice mail messages 
 
3. Pulls another set of applications to begin processing. 
 

12.11   Order of Paper Work in Case Files 
 
1. Fair Hearing paperwork or letters and Notice of Actions are placed in the front of the 

file in chronological order, with the most recent in front. 
 
2. Heating Assistance Program application 
 
3. Income verification, EIS screens, copies of bills, and any other supporting 

documentation should be placed behind the application. 
 
4. Faxed copies of the application form if not shredded (the front page of a faxed 

application must be retained to preserve the application receipt date and time stamp) 
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12.12  Case Notes 
 
It is important to carefully document anything unusual about a case.  Use computer “case 
notes” <F9> to document: 

 
• unusual situations, 
 
• all phone contacts with the applicant, 
 
• verification of regular unearned income which is not on EIS, 
 
• returned NOAs, 
 
• rent receipt or rent agreement information that verified the main source of heat or 

that the dwelling is not subsidized, 
 
• communication with vendors regarding applicant accounts or refund of grant 

amounts, 
 
• reasons for unusual grant distribution, and 
 
• other communication concerning a customer’s application or grant. 

 
Comments written in “case notes” should always be professional, objective, respectful 
and easy to understand.  Remember that applicants have the legal right to read their files. 
 
Initial all entries in computer case notes. 
 

12.13  Case File Maintenance 
 
Case files should be filed at the end of the day.  Those that have been processed are put 
into alphabetical order in the accordion file on the front table. 
 
If a caseworker has unprocessed files at the end of the day, they should be banded with 
the caseworker’s name on them and placed in front of file drawer #1, containing 
unprocessed applications; or placed in pending processing bins at the case workers desk 
as noted in <F9> case notes. 
 
Do not leave case files on or in desks overnight except as noted above. 
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12.14   Returning Verification to the Applicant 
 
Return original supporting documents to the applicant. 
 
Caseworkers can make copies of the verification returned and place the copies in the 
applicant’s file or note that they saw it. 
 
If an applicant has been denied assistance, a photocopy of all verification used to 
determine income totals should be kept in the case file. 
 
After processing a case, original documents should be placed in a HAP envelope with a 
mailing label attached, to be sent to the applicant.  The envelope is put in the front of the 
case file until the case is reviewed.  The envelope will be removed by the person who 
adds the NOA to the case file. 
 

12.15   Notices of Action Returned as Undeliverable 
 
When NOA’s are returned as undeliverable the worker should check the address on the 
NOA against the address on the application.  If the address needs correcting, the worker 
should do so and re-send the NOA. 
 
If the address appears to be correct, the caseworker should look at other sources for an 
updated address.  Check EIS and DOL for address information. 
 
If a new address cannot be found and the NOA is a pend notice, the caseworker should 
file the NOA in the case file, make a note in computer case notes, and wait until the case 
comes up on their pend list.  If there is no word from the applicant by that time, the case 
should be denied and the denial notice sent to the available address. 
 
If the returned NOA is a grant notification and no new address can be found, the vendors 
should be contacted to see if the accounts are closed. 
 

• If the accounts are closed, the balance of the grant (if any) should be refunded to 
the State. 

 
• If the accounts are not closed, check with the vendor for a current address.  Enter 

the new mailing address and request a new NOA.  Indicate in case notes what was 
done. 
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12.16   Calculation/Decision Trail 
 
Caseworkers must ensure that each application they process includes a clear 
calculation/decision trail.  This is essential for quality control reviews, expedited service 
decisions and any time a worker must check the calculations and decisions that were 
made. 
 
Including a calculator tape and a notation of “per EIS or DOL” on the application 
provides the trail to explain how income was calculated and verified. 
 

12.17  Quality Assurance 
 
A random sample of approved cases is reviewed daily by the Casework Supervisor prior 
to printing the vendor NOAs. 
 
If errors are found, the Casework Supervisor will make the necessary changes and notify 
the caseworker.  Errors are logged and are used to review work quality for the office.  
The person checking the file initials the file copy of the NOA to indicate that the case 
was reviewed. 
 

12.18   Tribal Organization Files 
 
Notification of the tribe is required when an application is approved for a household of 
mixed ethnic heritage from an area served jointly by the State and a Tribal Organization.  
The caseworker sends a copy of the front page of the application to the tribe with the 
words, “SERVED BY THE STATE” written on it. 
 
When tribal LIHEAP service information is received by the HAP, the front desk worker 
enters the household members into the HAS ineligibles list through <F7> with the “AN” 
alert to signify Alaska Native.  The information received from the tribes is filed into the 
appropriate tribal organization file kept at the reception desk. 
 

12.19   Caseworker Comments and Suggestions 
 
Caseworkers are encouraged to note comments, ideas and suggested changes to the 
application, program manual, and other HAP forms or procedures. 
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12.20  Auto-attendant Telephone System and Voice Mail 
 
An auto-attendant telephone system is used to direct callers to specific information 
regarding HAP cases. 
 
Heating Assistance Program employees have individual voice mail accounts. 
 

• It is essential that caseworkers check their voice mail as they receive messages 
throughout the day.  Workers are required to check their voice mail frequently and 
return messages.   

 
• The front desk worker checks the expedite voice mail box (465-3097) regularly 

and returns messages, as possible.  Expedite workers are not required to return all 
phone messages for expedited service requests.  Applicants are often very difficult 
to contact due to message numbers, etc. 

 
• Outgoing voice mail messages should be updated daily by HAP employees.  The 

daily message should include the current day’s date so that callers are reassured 
that the person they need to speak with is available that day.  If a worker is not 
available on any given day, the voice mail message should be updated with the 
anticipated return date included in the message.  The caller should be given the 
option to leave a message or press zero for immediate assistance.  (Pressing zero 
transfers the call to the front desk at 465-3010). 

 

12.21  Assuming Another Caseworker’s Cases 
 
When a caseworker assumes a case from another worker who has gone on seasonal leave, 
he or she will put their own initials in the case.  The NOA will then list the name and 
phone number for the worker the applicant can contact for follow-up.   
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Heating Assistance Benefit Computation 

Step 1 – Community fuel points 
The division has assigned heating cost points to each community in the state, based upon 
the community’s annual fuel cost and climatic conditions.  These points are listed in 
Section 15. 
 
• If the household uses natural gas and another fuel type for heat, the division will use 

the community heating cost points for natural gas. 
• If the household uses self-harvested wood or coal for heat, the division will use the 

community heating cost points for oil multiplied by 0.5. 
• If the household uses purchased wood or coal for heat, the division will use the 

community heating cost points for oil multiplied by 0.8. 
 

Step 2 – Dwelling type 
The division will multiply the community heating cost points by the first one of the 
following factors that describes the household’s dwelling.  If more than one factor 
applies, the division will use the factor listed first: 
 

(0)  The factor is 1.0 if the household resides 2-bedroom single family, duplex or 
triplex home; 3 or more bedroom unit in an apartment building of four or more 
attached units 

(1) the factor of 1.4 if the household resides in a mobile home with heated living 
space of 980 square feet or more; 

(2) the factor of 0.4 if the household resides in a travel trailer or mobile home less 
than 35 feet in length, or in an RV, tent or pickup camper; 

(3) the factor of 0.15 if the household resides in a one-room dwelling such as a studio 
apartment, hotel or boarding home; 

(4) the factor of 0.35 if the household resides on a boat; 
(5) the factor of 0.55 if the household resides in a one-bedroom dwelling, or a one-

room house or cabin without bedrooms; 
(6) the factor of 1.3 if the household resides in a three-or-more-bedroom single 

family, duplex or triplex home; 
(7) the factor of 0.7 if the household resides in a two-bedroom unit in an apartment 

building of four or more attached units. 
 
If the household resides in a single residence with one or more other households, the 
heating cost points are reduced to the household’s proportionate share of the home 
heating expenses. 
 
Step 3 – Household size and income 
The division reviews and verifies each household's gross income for the month prior to 
application.  Verification may be provided through:  documentary evidence (wage stub, 
award letter, etc.); Division of Public Assistance and Department of Labor records; or 
impartial third parties such as fee agents, village council representatives, or social service 
agencies. 
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The division will assign each household the following percentage of heating cost points 
based upon the household’s gross monthly income and family size, expressed as a 
percentage of the Alaska poverty level.  The Alaska poverty level figures are included in 
Appendix A. 
 
• 100 percent of points if the household’s gross monthly income is no more than 25 

percent of the Alaska poverty level; 
• 90 percent of points if the household’s gross monthly income is more than 25 percent 

but no more than 50 percent of the Alaska poverty level; 
• 80 percent of points if the household’s gross monthly income is more than 50 percent 

but no more than 75 percent of the Alaska poverty level; 
• 70 percent of points if the household’s gross monthly income is more than 75 percent 

but no more than 100 percent of the Alaska poverty level; 
• 60 percent of points if the household’s gross monthly income is more than 100 

percent but no more than 125 percent of the Alaska poverty level; 
• 50 percent of points if the household’s gross monthly income is more than 125 

percent of the Alaska poverty level but no more than the maximum allowable. 
 
If the household’s gross monthly income exceeds the maximum allowable poverty level 
the household is not eligible. 
 
Step 4 – Priority groups 
The division will add one point to the income adjusted heating cost points if the 
household includes one or more members 60 years of age or older, legally disabled, or 
under six years of age. 
 
Step 5 – Heating points of 2.0 or more 
Households must have heating cost points of 2.0 or more to be eligible for heating 
assistance. 
 
Step 6 – Round points 
The division will round the final total heating cost points to the nearest whole number.  
The total heating cost points may not exceed 35 points. 
 
Step 7 – Multiply by the benefit rate to determine household benefit 
The division will multiply by the benefit rate to determine the amount of the household’s 
heating assistance. 
 
The amount of heating assistance may be reduced by the amount of the unpaid balance 
that the household owes the division for previously awarded heating assistance to which 
the household was not entitled.  The division will use this method of recoupment of 
overpayments only if the household has not responded to the division’s request for 
repayment or the household defaults on its repayment agreement. 
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The following examples illustrate how a household’s heating assistance benefit is 
determined using an $85 benefit rate. 
 
 
 Example 1  Benefit calculation: 
Step 1. Community, Fuel Anchorage, N Gas 5 points 
Step 2. Dwelling 3 bedroom house 5 points x 1.3 = 6.5 points 
Step 3. Household Size, Income 4, $2,150 101-125% of poverty = 60% 
   6.5 points x 0.6 = 3.9 points 
Step 4. Household includes elderly, 

disabled or child under age 6 
No N/A 

Step 5. Heating points of 2.0 or more Yes 3.9 points 
Step 6. Round points   Rounded = 4 points 
Step 7. Multiply by benefit rate  4 points x $85 = $340 
 Example 2  Benefit calculation: 
Step 1. Community, Fuel Fairbanks, Oil 10 points 
Step 2. Dwelling 2 bedrm, 4+unit bldg 10 points x 0.7 = 7 points 
Step 3. Household Size, Income 2, $ 1,650 126-140% of poverty = 50% 
   7 points x 0.5 = 3.5 points 
Step 4. Household includes elderly, 

disabled or child under age 6 
Yes 3.5 points + 1 = 4.5 points 

Step 5. Heating points of 2.0 or more Yes 4.5 points 
Step 6. Round points   Rounded = 5 points 
Step 7. Multiply by benefit rate  5 points x $85 = $425 
 Example 3  Benefit calculation: 
Step 1. Community, Fuel Savoonga, Oil 27 points 
Step 2. Dwelling 2 bedroom house No adjustment 
Step 3. Household Size, Income 5, $1,680 76-100% of poverty = 70% 
   27 points x 0.7 = 18.9 points 
Step 4. Household includes elderly, 

disabled or child under age 6 
Yes 18.9 points + 1 = 19.9 points 

Step 5. Heating points of 2.0 or more Yes 19.9 points 
Step 6. Round points   Rounded = 20 points 
Step 7. Multiply by benefit rate  20 points x $85 = $1,700 

 
 Example 4  Benefit calculation: 
Step 1. Community, Fuel Anchorage, N Gas 5 points 
Step 2. Dwelling Studio apartment 5 points x 0.15 = 0.75 points 
Step 3. Household Size, Income 1, $1,250 126-140% of poverty = 50% 
   .75 points x 0.5 = 0.375 points 
Step 4. Household includes elderly, 

disabled or child under age 6 
No N/A 

Step 5. Heating points of 2.0 or more No 0.375 points 
Step 6. Round points   N/A 
Step 7. Multiply by benefit rate  Ineligible 
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Service Providers 

14.1 Tribal LIHEAP 
   Phone    Fax 
Karen Gonne’ Harrell/Euguene Bourdukofsky 222-4231- Karen 279-4351 
Aleutian/Pribilof Islands Assoc. (A/PIA) 222-4225-Euguen  
1131 W International Airport Blvd   
Anchorage, AK  99503   
   
Pat Samson 543-7471 543-7479 
Assoc. of Village Council Presidents (AVCP)   
P.O. Box 219   
Bethel, AK  99559   
   
Rae Belle Whitcomb 842-2262 842-3498 
Bristol Bay Native Association (BBNA)   
P.O. Box 310   
Dillingham, AK 99576   
   
Roberta Turner 283-3633 283-3052 
Kenaitze Indian Tribe I.R.A. (KIT)   
P.O. Box 988   
Kenai, AK  99611   
   
Carolyn Smith 486-9800 486-9898 
Kodiak Area Native Association (KANA)   
3449 Rezanof Drive E   
Kodiak, AK 99615   
   
Patricia Murphy 675-4456 675-4387 
Kuskokwim Native Association (KNA)   
P.O. Box 127   
Aniak, AK  99557   
   
Samantha Michaels 543-2608 543-2639 
Orutsaramuit Native Council (ONC)   
P.O. Box 927   
Bethel, AK  99559   
   
Crystal Collier 234-7898 234-7865 
Seldovia Village Tribe (SVT)   
P.O. Drawer L   
Seldovia, AK  99663   
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Don Shircel 452-8251 459-3883 
Tanana Chiefs Conference (TCC)   
122 First Avenue   
Fairbanks, AK  99701-4897   
   
Louise Kadinger 780-6868 1-866-681-2590 
Tlingit & Haida Regional Housing Authority (THRHA)   
P.O. Box 32237   
Juneau, AK  99803-2237   
   
Shelley Bremner 784-3070 784-3595 
Yakutat Tlingit Tribe (YTT)   
P.O. Box 418   
Yakutat, AK 99689   
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14.2 Housing Authority Contact Phone Information  
 
 

Alaska Housing Finance Corporation (AHFC) Anchorage 
 
Fairbanks 
Juneau 

330-6100 
1-800-478-2432 
456-4290 
586-3750 

Association of Alaska Housing Authorities Tony 338-3970 
Aleutian Housing Authority Wanda Watson 563-2146 

1-800-478-5614 
Association of Village Council Presidents (AVCP) 

Regional Housing Authority 
Tom Hildreth 543-3121 

Baranof Island Housing Authority Marcie Hattan 747-5088 
Bering Straits Regional Housing Authority Shirley Bell 443-5256 

1-800-478-5255 
Bristol Bay Housing Authority Anna Maria Ennis 842-5956 
Cook Inlet Housing Authority-Subsidized Rentals 
                                                 Mutual Help 

Mary Chouinard 
Diana Catalano 

338-2211 
276-8822 

Copper River Basin Regional Housing Authority Elaine Sam 822-3633 
1-800-478-3633 

Interior Regional Housing Authority Dene Sommer 452-8315 
Kodiak Island Housing Authority Rhea Eisenhauer 

rheae@kiha.org 
486-8111 

North Pacific Rim Housing Authority Brenda Christoffersen 562-1444 
1-888-274-1444 

Northwest Inupiat Housing Authority Miranda Thomas or 
Rodney Snyder 

442-3450 ext 4 

Tagiugmiullu Nunamiullu Housing Authority (TNHA) Kirk Brown 852-0290 
Tlingit Haida Housing Robert Cesar 780-6868 

 
 
More information is available at: http://www.alaska.net/~aaha/index.htm and 
http://www.ahfc.state.ak.us 

 

http://www.alaska.net/~aaha/index.htm�
http://www.ahfc.state.ak.us/�
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Community List 

"*"   Indicates the tribe serves Alaska Native/American Indians only 
"0"  Indicates the tribe serves all residents 

    All remaining communities served by the state of Alaska 
 
Zip Code 

 
Community Name 

 
Served By 

Points           
Oil / N Gas 

99502       Adak (Station)  /   06/00/ 
99615       Akhiok  */KANA   08/00/ 
99551       Akiachak  0/AVCP    21/00/ 
99552       Akiak  0/AVCP    21/00/ 
99553       Akutan  */APIA    11/00/ 
99554       Alakanuk  0/AVCP    21/00/ 
99790       Alatna  0/TCC   27/00/ 
99555       Aleknagik   0/BBNA   13/00/ 
99695       Alexander Creek   /   07/00/ 
99720       Allakaket   0/TCC   27/00/ 
99786       Ambler   /   35/00/ 
99721       Anaktuvuk Pass   /   16/00/ 
99556       Anchor Point   /   06/00/ 
99501       Anchorage    /   08/05/ 
99744       Anderson  */TCC   11/00/ 
99820       Angoon  */THRHA   08/00/ 
99557       Aniak  0/KNA   21/00/ 
99920       Annette   /   06/00/ 
99558       Anvik  0/TCC   19/00/ 
99722       Arctic Village  0/TCC   32/00/ 
99547       Atka  */APIA    06/00/ 
99559       Atmautluak  0/AVCP    19/00/ 
99791       Atqasuk   /   24/00/ 
99821       Auke Bay */THRHA   05/00/ 
99723       Barrow   /   21/06/ 
99724       Beaver  0/TCC   24/00/ 
99695       Beluga   /   07/00/ 
99559       Bethel  0/ONC   16/00/ 
99790       Bettles  0/TCC   29/00/ 
99652       Big Lake   /   07/05/ 
99790       Birch Creek  0/TCC   27/00/ 
99790       Boundary  0/TCC  
99785       Brevig Mission   /    23/00/ 
99727       Buckland   /   33/00/ 
99729       Cantwell   /   11/00/ 
99790       Canyon Village  0/TCC    
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99730       Central  0/TCC   23/00/ 
99788       Chalkyitsik  0/TCC   28/00/ 
99790       Chandalar   0/TCC   
99695       Chaniliut   0/AVCP    
99695       Chase   /   08/00/ 
99561       Chefornak   0/AVCP    20/00/ 
99790       Chena Hot Springs    /   11/00/ 
99574       Chenega Bay   /   08/00/ 
99563       Chevak  0/AVCP    25/00/ 
99674       Chickaloon   /   08/00/ 
99732       Chicken  0/TCC   19/00/ 
99564       Chignik  0/BBNA   09/00/ 
99565       Chignik Lagoon  0/BBNA   09/00/ 
99548       Chignik Lake  0/BBNA   09/00/ 
99615       Chiniak   /   06/00/ 
99586       Chistochina   /   12/00/ 
99566       Chitina   /   11/00/ 
99579       Chuathbaluk  0/KNA   21/00/ 
99567       Chugiak   /   07/05/ 
99733       Circle  0/TCC   23/00/ 
99734       Circle Hot Springs  0/TCC   23/00/ 
99568       Clam Gulch   /   07/00/ 
99569       Clarks Point  0/BBNA   16/00/ 
99704       Clear  */TCC   11/00/ 
99950       Coffman Cove   /   06/00/ 
99571       Cold Bay   /   11/00/ 
99701       Coldfoot   /   19/00/ 
99708       College   /   10/00/ 
99572       Cooper Landing   /   09/06/ 
99573       Copper Center   /   11/00/ 
99574       Cordova   /   07/00/ 
99921       Craig  0/THRHA   05/00/ 
99575       Crooked Creek  0/KNA   26/00/ 
99736       Deering   /   31/00/ 
99737       Delta Junction  */TCC   11/00/ 
99755       Denali Park   /   10/00/ 
99576       Dillingham  0/BBNA   11/00/ 
99762       Diomede   /   27/00/ 
99737       Dot Lake  0/TCC   12/00/ 
99824       Douglas  */THRHA   05/00/ 
99685       Dutch Harbor  */APIA    06/00/ 
99738       Eagle  0/TCC   19/00/ 
99577       Eagle River   /   08/05/ 
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99950       Edna Bay   /   11/00/ 
99578       Eek  0/AVCP    22/00/ 
99579       Egegik  0/BBNA   15/00/ 
99702       Eielson AFB  0/AFB   11/00/ 
99695       Eklutna   /   08/05/ 
99695       Ekuk  0/BBNA   16/00/ 
99580       Ekwok  0/BBNA   14/00/ 
99825       Elfin Cove   /   06/00/ 
99739       Elim   /   26/00/ 
99506       Elmendorf AFB  0/USA   08/05/ 
99581       Emmonak  0/AVCP    24/00/ 
99603       English Bay   /   19/00/ 
99725       Ester   /   11/00/ 
99726       Evansville  0/TCC   29/00/ 
99850       Excursion Inlet   /   07/00/ 
99701       Fairbanks    /   10/05/ 
99583       False Pass  */APIA   11/00/ 
99695       Farewell  0/TCC    
99584       Flat  0/TCC  
99790       Fort Greely  0/USA   11/00/ 
99703       Fort Wainwright   /   10/00/ 
99740       Fort Yukon  0/TCC   23/00/ 
99585       Fortuna Ledge  0/AVCP     
99790       Fox   /   11/00/ 
99603       Fritz Creek   /   07/00/ 
99850       Funter Bay   /   07/00/ 
99586       Gakona   /   11/00/ 
99741       Galena  0/TCC   20/00/ 
99742       Gambell   /   27/00/ 
99742       Georgetown  0/KNA   26/00/ 
99587       Girdwood   /   08/05/ 
99588       Glennallen   /   11/00/ 
99762       Golovin   /   26/00/ 
99589       Goodnews Bay  0/AVCP    20/00/ 
99590       Grayling  0/TCC   22/00/ 
99586       Gulkana   /   11/00/ 
99826       Gustavus   /   06/00/ 
99827       Haines  */THRHA /   06/00/ 
99603       Halibut Cove   /   07/00/ 
99790       Hamilton  0/AVCP    24/00/ 
99743       Healy  */TCC   10/00/ 
99743       Healy Lake  */TCC   13/00/ 
99950       Hollis   /   05/00/ 
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99602       Holy Cross  0/TCC   21/00/ 
99603       Homer   /   07/00/ 
99829       Hoonah  0/THRHA   07/00/ 
99604       Hooper Bay  0/AVCP    25/00/ 
99605       Hope   /   07/00/ 
99694       Houston   /   07/05/ 
99745       Hughes  0/TCC   33/00/ 
99746       Huslia  0/TCC   30/00/ 
99922       Hydaburg  0/THRHA   05/00/ 
99923       Hyder   /   04/00/ 
99665       Iditarod  0/TCC   
99613       Igiugig  0/BBNA   12/00/ 
99606       Iliamna  0/BBNA   19/00/ 
99540       Indian   /   08/05/ 
99502       Ivanof Bay   /   12/00/ 
99801       Juneau */THRHA   05/00/ 
99830       Kake  0/THRHA   06/00/ 
99747       Kaktovik   /   24/00/ 
99626       Kalskag (lower)  0/KNA   23/00/ 
99607       Kalskag (upper)  0/KNA   23/00/ 
99748       Kaltag  0/TCC   22/00/ 
99608       Karluk   /   10/00/ 
99924       Kasaan  0/THRHA   05/00/ 
99609       Kasigluk  0/AVCP    19/00/ 
99610       Kasilof   /   07/00/ 
99611       Kenai  */KIT   08/06/ 
99588       Kennicott    /   11/00/ 
99612       Kenny Lake (Tonsina)   /   11/00/ 
99901       Ketchikan   */THRHA   04/00/ 
99749       Kiana   /   26/00/ 
99612       King Cove   */APIA    11/00/ 
99613       King Salmon  0/BBNA   13/00/ 
99614       Kipnuk  0/AVCP    20/00/ 
99750       Kivalina   /   28/00/ 
99925       Klawock  0/THRHA   05/00/ 
99827       Klukwan  0/THRHA   08/00/ 
99695       Knik   /   07/05/ 
99751       Kobuk   /   35/00/ 
99615       Kodiak  */KANA   06/00/ 
99606       Kokhanok  0/BBNA   19/00/ 
99790       Kokrines  0/TCC   
99576       Koliganek   0/BBNA   16/00/ 
99559       Kongiganak  0/AVCP    22/00/ 
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99620       Kotlik  0/AVCP    24/00/ 
99752       Kotzebue   /   21/00/ 
99753       Koyuk   /   25/00/ 
99754       Koyukuk  0/TCC   20/00/ 
99621       Kwethluk  0/AVCP    20/00/ 
99622       Kwigillingok  0/AVCP    22/00/ 
99757       Lake Minchumina  0/TCC   27/00/ 
99624       Larsen Bay  */KANA   07/00/ 
99625       Levelock  0/BBNA   12/00/ 
99668       Lime Village  0/AVCP    26/00/ 
99712       Livengood   /   14/00/ 
99950       Loring  */THRHA   05/00/ 
99756       Manley Hot Springs   0/TCC   13/00/ 
99628       Manokotak   0/BBNA   16/00/ 
99695       Marshall  0/AVCP    25/00/ 
99588       McCarthy   /   11/00/ 
99627       McGrath  0/TCC   22/00/ 
99755       Mckinley Park   /   10/00/ 
99629       Medfra  0/TCC    
99630       Mekoryuk  0/AVCP    21/00/ 
99780       Mentasta Lake   /   12/00/ 
99926       Metlakatla  0/THRHA   06/00/ 
99757       Miller House  0/TCC    
99758       Minto  0/TCC   16/00/ 
99705       Moose Creek   /   11/00/ 
99631       Moose Pass   /   06/00/ 
99835       Mount Edgecumbe  */THRHA   06/00/ 
99632       Mountain Village  0/AVCP    25/00/ 
99903       Myers Chuck   /   05/00/ 
99633       Naknek  0/BBNA   13/00/ 
99603       Nanwalek   /   08/00/ 
99634       Napakiak  0/AVCP    11/00/ 
99559       Napaskiak   0/AVCP    20/00/ 
99950       Naukati   /   06/00/ 
99571       Nelson Lagoon  */APIA    08/00/ 
99760       Nenana  0/TCC   11/00/ 
99636       New Stuyahok  0/BBNA   16/00/ 
99606       Newhalen  0/BBNA   19/00/ 
99559       Newtok  0/AVCP    25/00/ 
99690       Nightmute   0/AVCP    21/00/ 
99635       Nikiski   */KIT   07/06/ 
99556       Nikolaevsk   /   06/00/ 
99691       Nikolai  0/TCC   27/00/ 
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99638       Nikolski  */APIA    06/00/ 
99639       Ninilchik    /   08/00/ 
99761       Noatak   /   32/00/ 
99762       Nome   /   17/00/ 
99640       Nondalton   0/BBNA   19/00/ 
99763       Noorvik   /   26/00/ 
99705       North Pole   /   11/00/ 
99764       Northway  0/TCC   12/00/ 
99789       Nuiqsut   /   20/00/ 
99765       Nulato  0/TCC   24/00/ 
99666       Nunam Iqua (Sheldon Pt)  0/AVCP    24/00/ 
99641       Nunapitchuk  0/AVCP    19/00/ 
99695       Ohogamiute  0/AVCP    25/00/ 
99643       Old Harbor  */KANA   07/00/ 
99695       Oscarville  0/AVCP    20/00/ 
99644       Ouzinkie   /   06/00/ 
99645       Palmer   /   07/05/ 
99737       Paxson   /   12/00/ 
99647       Pedro Bay    /   19/00/ 
99832       Pelican */THRHA   07/00/ 
99648       Perryville   /   09/00/ 
99567       Peters Creek   /   08/05/ 
99833       Petersburg */THRHA   05/00/ 
99649       Pilot Point  0/BBNA   12/00/ 
99650       Pilot Station  0/AVCP    25/00/ 
99649       Pitka's Point  0/AVCP    25/00/ 
99651       Platinum  0/AVCP    20/00/ 
99712       Pleasant Valley   /   11/00/ 
99927       Point Baker   /   11/00/ 
99766       Point Hope   /   23/00/ 
99790       Point Lay    /   18/00/ 
99836       Port Alexander   /   11/00/ 
99653       Port Alsworth   /   19/00/ 
99603       Port Graham   /   08/00/ 
99549       Port Heiden  0/BBNA   12/00/ 
99550       Port Lions  */KANA   08/00/ 
99950       Port Protection   /   11/00/ 
99695       Portage   /   08/05/ 
99576       Portage Creek  0/BBNA   14/00/ 
99655       Quinhagak   0/AVCP    20/00/ 
99767       Rampart  0/TCC   20/00/ 
99656       Red Devil   0/KNA   26/00/ 
99505       Richardson (Fort)   0/USA   08/05/ 
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99768       Ruby  0/TCC   19/00/ 
99657       Russian Mission  0/KNA   25/00/ 
99660       Saint George  */APIA    11/00/ 
99658       Saint Marys  0/AVCP    25/00/ 
99659       Saint Michael   /   23/00/ 
99660       Saint Paul  */APIA    11/00/ 
99714       Salcha   /   11/00/ 
99661       Sand Point  */APIA    08/00/ 
99769       Savoonga   /   27/00/ 
99950       Saxman  0/THRHA   04/00/ 
99662       Scammon Bay  0/AVCP    22/00/ 
99770       Selawik   /   29/00/ 
99663       Seldovia  */SVT   09/00/ 
99664       Seward   /   06/00/ 
99665       Shageluk  0/TCC   24/00/ 
99771       Shaktoolik   /   21/00/ 
99666       Sheldon Point-Nunam Iqua  0/AVCP    24/00/ 
99772       Shishmaref   /   29/00/ 
99773       Shungnak   /   35/00/ 
99835       Sitka  */THRHA   06/00/ 
99840       Skagway  */THRHA   08/00/ 
99667       Skwentna   /   11/00/ 
99586       Slana   /   12/00/ 
99668       Sleetmute   0/KNA   26/00/ 
99669       Soldotna  */KIT   09/06/ 
99790       Solomon   /   26/00/ 
99670       South Naknek  0/BBNA   13/00/ 
99671       Stebbins   /   21/00/ 
99672       Sterling  */KIT   09/06/ 
99774       Stevens Village  0/TCC   23/00/ 
99673       Stony River  0/KNA   26/00/ 
99695       Susitna */TCC   10/00/ 
99674       Sutton   /   07/05/ 
99675       Takotna 0/TCC   20/00/ 
99676       Talkeetna    /   08/00/ 
99776       Tanacross  0/TCC   12/00/ 
99777       Tanana 0/TCC   20/00/ 
99677       Tatitlek  /   11/00/ 
99627       Telida 0/TCC   27/00/ 
99778       Teller   /   23/00/ 
99841       Tenakee */THRHA   07/00/ 
99779       Tetlin  0/TCC   16/00/ 
99919       Thorne Bay   /   05/00/ 



 

Page 15-8  (Rev. 10/09) 

99678       Togiak  0/BBNA   17/00/ 
99780       Tok  */TCC   12/00/ 
99637       Toksook Bay  0/AVCP    21/00/ 
99695       Tonsina   /   11/00/ 
99683       Trapper Creek   /   08/00/ 
99679       Tuluksak 0/AVCP    21/00/ 
99680       Tuntutuliak 0/AVCP    20/00/ 
99681       Tununak 0/AVCP    20/00/ 
99678       Twin Hills  0/BBNA   17/00/ 
99716       Two Rivers   /   11/00/ 
99682       Tyonek   /   07/00/ 
99683       Ugashik   /   12/00/ 
99684       Unalakleet   /   21/00/ 
99685       Unalaska */APIA    06/00/ 
99787       Usibelli */TCC   10/00/ 
99686       Valdez   /   08/00/ 
99781       Venetie 0/TCC   23/00/ 
99782       Wainwright   /   21/00/ 
99783       Wales   /   27/00/ 
99928       Ward Cove    /   04/00/ 
99687       Wasilla   /   07/05/ 
99950       Whale Pass   /   06/00/ 
99784       White Mountain   /   26/00/ 
99693       Whittier   /   08/05/ 
99688       Willow   /   07/00/ 
99790       Wiseman   /   19/00/ 
99929       Wrangell */THRHA   05/00/ 
99689       Yakutat 0  /YTT   06/00/ 
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16 
 

Caseworker Tools and Resources 

16.1 Fee Agent Manual 
 
The Fee Agent Manual is located at: 
 
H:\users\hap\shared\wp\forms\feeagent\Fee Agent Manual.doc 
 
 

16.2 General Relief Assistance 
 
Alaska's General Relief Assistance (GRA) program is an emergency assistance program 
designed to meet immediate basic needs of Alaskans experiencing extreme financial 
crisis.  It provides limited assistance on behalf of eligible applicants to meet emergency 
subsistence needs for shelter, utilities, food, and clothing.  It also provides funds for 
funeral and burial expenses of deceased persons.  To qualify for assistance, applicants 
need to show they have an emergency need, such as an eviction notice from their landlord 
or a cutoff notice from the electric company.  Payments are always provided to the 
vendor, never to the applicant.  The program is primarily used for burials and to prevent 
evictions.  Only a very small portion is used for utilities.   
 
State law limits GRA payments paid on behalf of eligible applicants to a maximum of 
$120 per person.  For example, if there are three persons in the applicant's household, 
assistance may be provided to meet the emergency need up to a maximum of $360. 
 
The GR program is 100% state-funded. The program is designed to be used as a last 
resort for financially eligible individuals and families who have exhausted all other 
possible resources.  It is the responsibility of each DPA case manager to insure that all 
possible resources and alternative forms of assistance have been explored prior to 
approving applications for GRA.  
 
 

16.3 Ingens 
 
Ingens use is ONLY for State business.  There is no allowed personal use of Ingens.  
Access is limited to employees of the Division of Public Assistance for research directly 
related to the administration of DPA State Business.  Caseworkers are to access Ingens 
when needed, and then immediately exit the site.  Do not leave an Ingens window open or 
minimized when not in use  
 
Ingens is used to find information on individuals with business licenses, commercial 
fishing permits or vessels, or property.  This research is done when there is no income 
listed by the applicant, with no explanation and a pattern of little or no income recorded 
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over several years.  Research is also done if the applicant lists self-employment as their 
only income or if income is missing and applicant lives in a fishing community. 
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16.4 Interpreter Providers  
 
Effective immediately (September 2004) Optimal Telephone Interpreters will be the new 
service provider to assist staff with interpreter services. Staff can contact Optimal 
Telephone Interpreters by calling 1-877-746-4674.  Staff will need to know the language 
they need assistance with and provide their first name for billing purposes.  If you need 
further assistance, please contact Terri Gagne in Field Services.  
 
 

16.5 Lifeline and Linkup Programs 
 
The Lifeline and Linkup programs offer discounts to qualified telephone customers for 
both basic monthly residential telephone service and telephone service installation.  The 
Telecommunications Act of 1996 provides federal funding to ensure that quality 
telephone services are available to all consumers at affordable rates. A portion of each 
consumer’s bill goes to this fund and telephone providers are required to use the funds to 
extend affordable access to phone services through the Lifeline and Linkup programs. 
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Lifeline provides reductions in participants' monthly, local residential phone charges. The 
reductions can amount to as much as $20 per month for monthly use. Depending on the 
provider, Linkup services can reduce the cost of installing phone service by up to $70. 
 
Telephone companies providing Lifeline may not disconnect qualifying low-income 
consumers’ local service for non-payment of toll charges.  In addition, toll blocking is 
available to Lifeline customers free of charge.  Toll blocking allows customers to block 
incoming and outgoing long distance calls.   
 
The HAP prints the following text on all Notices to applicants determined eligible for 
heating assistance: 
 
“Your household income qualifies you for a reduced rate for local telephone service.  If 
you are interested in a discount on your telephone bills, bring this notice to your phone 
company and ask about Linkup and Lifeline telephone service.”  
 
More information on Lifeline and Linkup is available at:  

 
http://www.ausac.org/lifeline%20brochure.pdf 

 

16.6 Regulatory Commission of Alaska 
 
Caseworkers may refer any applicant that would like some help or intervention with their 
heat or electric utility (regardless of the weather), to the Regulatory Commission of 
Alaska, Consumer Protection and Information Section, at:  272-6222 in Anchorage or 
toll free at 1-800-390-2782.  
 
When working with someone that is being disconnected in cold weather, or being 
threatened with being disconnected, invite him or her to call the RCA if they would like 
RCA intervention.   The Commission wants to be aware that this is happening and how 
often.   
 
Consider “cold weather” to be anything below zero up north, and probably anything 
below freezing in Southeast.  
 
 

16.7 Vendor Manual 
 
The Vendor Manual is located at: 
 
H:\users\hap\shared\wp\forms\vendor\Vendor Manual.doc 
 
 

http://www.ausac.org/lifeline%20brochure.pdf�
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16.8 Veterans Benefits 
 
The local Veteran’s Administration office contact person, Clifford Dean, at 586-7472, 
can verify VA benefits for applicants statewide from his Juneau office. 
 
All VA benefits are gross.  This is in contrast to military retirement, which is subject to 
deductions (i.e. child support, IRS etc.). 
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16.9 The Work Number® 
 
The Work Number is a means of obtaining income information from over 600 companies 
including Wal-Mart, K-Mart, and Fred Meyer.   
 
Go to www.theworknumber.com and Click on Social Services (bottom, left center of 
screen) 

 
 
Enter:  Your Fax Number, click on GO 

 
 

http://www.theworknumber.com/�


 

Page 16-7  (Rev. 10/09) 

Select:  Employer Code (select from the drop-down menu) 
Enter:  Employee Social Security Number 
Enter:  Caseworker’s Name 

 
Verification will be faxed within 5 business days. 
 
The following page is an example of the information provided by The Work Number® 
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THE WORK NUMBER ® 
 
The following information was provided by the employer to The Work Number to act as 
their official agent for issuing employment verifications. Information not provided by the 
employer is left blank. Any inconsistency between the most recent start date and the total 
time with the company is due to prior work period. For any questions about the service, 
call 1-800-9-WORK-NO (800-996-7566).  
 
The following information is provided in response to 
your request for an employment verification on: 
5/15/03 

 

  
Information was current as of: 5/10/03 
Employer: Enterprise USA   
Employee: RANDY W DOE  
Social Security Number: 111-00-3341  
Address: 1545 ORANGEDALE LANE  

SOUTH HAMPTON , NY 63211  
Employment Status: Active  
Most Recent Start Date: 2/01/01 
Total Time with Employer:  2 years 3 months  
Current Position:  CUSTOMER RELATIONS 
Rate of Pay:  $7.10 hourly 
  
Average Hours per Pay Period: 80  
 
 Current YTD Last Year 
Total Pay: 

Two Years Past 
4100.20 14769.77 13756.45 

 
Pay Period Date Pay Date  Hours Worked 
05/04/2003 

Gross Earnings 
05/10/2003 74.00 525.40 

04/20/2003 04/26/2003 74.00 525.40 
04/06/2003 04/12/2003 20.50 145.50 
03/23/2003 03/29/2003 80.00 568.00 
03/09/2003 03/15/2003 80.00 568.00 
01/26/2003 02/01/2003 80.00 568.00 
01/12/2003 01/18/2003 80.00 568.00 
 
MEDICAL COVERAGE: Y Enterprise Medical 
DENTAL COVERAGE: Y Enterprise Dental 
Reference Number for this verification: 10639911 
 
* Gross Earnings include Gross Base Wages, Bonuses, Commissions, Overtime, 
Reported Tips and any other form of reported compensation.  

 
The Work Number database is always growing. 
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To receive a free up-to-date list of companies on The Work Number, 
call our Client Service Center at 1-800-996-7566. 
Or visit our web site at www.theworknumber.com 
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16.10 Postal Pay Dates  

2009 Pay Dates and Leave Year 

The following chart lists the pay periods for 2009. For the convenience of timekeepers, each 
biweekly pay period appears as two separate weeks, with the beginning and ending dates 
indicated for each week. 

The leave year always begins the first day of the first full pay period in the calendar year. The 
2009 leave year begins Pay Period 2, January 3, 2009, and extends for 26 full pay periods, 
ending January 2, 2010 (Pay Period 01-10). source: Postal Bulletin 

2009 Pay Period Inclusive Dates 

Pay Period Week One Week Two Pay Date Holidays 
01 12-20 to 12-26 12-27 to 01-02 01-09 12-25, 01-01 
02 01-03 to 01-09 01-10 to 01-16 01-23   
03 01-17 to 01-23 01-24 to 01-30 02-06 01-19 
04 01-31 to 02-06 02-07 to 02-13 02-20   
05 02-14 to 02-20 02-21 to 02-27 03-06 02-16 
06 02-28 to 03-06 03-07 to 03-13 03-20   
07 03-14 to 03-20 03-21 to 03-27 04-03   
08 03-28 to 04-03 04-04 to 04-10 04-17   
09 04-11 to 04-17 04-18 to 04-24 05-01   
10 04-25 to 05-01 05-02 to 05-08 05-15   
11 05-09 to 05-15 05-16 to 05-22 05-29   
12 05-23 to 05-29 05-30 to 06-05 06-12 05-25 
13 06-06 to 06-12 06-13 to 06-19 06-26   
14 06-20 to 06-26 06-27 to 07-03 07-10 07-04 
15 07-04 to 07-10 07-11 to 07-17 07-24   
16 07-18 to 07-24 07-25 to 07-31 08-07   
17 08-01 to 08-07 08-08 to 08-14 08-21   
18 08-15 to 08-21 08-22 to 08-28 09-04   
19 08-29 to 09-04 09-05 to 09-11 09-18 09-07 
20 09-12 to 09-18 09-19 to 09-25 10-02   
21 09-26 to 10-02 10-03 to 10-09 10-16   
22 10-10 to 10-16 10-17 to 10-23 10-30 10-12 
23 10-24 to 10-30 10-31 to 11-06 11-13   
24 11-07 to 11-13 11-14 to 11-20 11-27 11-11 
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25 11-21 to 11-27 11-28 to 12-04 12-11 11-26 
26 12-05 to 12-11 12-12 to 12-18 12-24   

2010 Pay Periods Begin 

Pay Period Week One Week Two Pay Date Holidays 
01 12-19 to 12-25 12-26 to 01-01 01-08 12-25, 01-01 
02 01-02 to 01-08 01-09 to 01-15 01-22   
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16.11 Worker’s Compensation Report  
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Calculating income, 6-3 

Calculation/decision trail, 12-9 
Car, 6-2 
Caretaker, 8-1  
Case file maintenance, 12-7 
Case notes, 12-7 
Caseworker processing procedures, 12-4 
Cash gifts, 6-5, 6-7 
Cashouts (leave), 6-3 
Cashouts (retirement or pension), 8-3 
Categorical households, 6-3 
Changing application information, 12-3 
Child support, 6-4, 8-2, 12-5 
Child under age 6, 3-3, 7-1 
Coal, 3-5, 6-1,7-4, 10-1, 10-4, 13-1 
CODES 
 Denial, 6-14 
 Ethnicity, 7-4 
 Fuel Type, 7-6 
 HAS Alerts, 9-1 
 Housing Category, 7-3 
 Subsidized housing, 9-2, 9-3 
Collateral contact, 8-4 
Collect calls, 12-3 
Completed application, 2-1, 3-1 
Confidentiality, 12-1 
Contract screen, 9-3 
Correctional facility, 4-2, 6-2 
CORRESPONDENCE 
 Mysterious, 12-3 
 Thank you notes, 12-3 
Countable income, 6-3 
Crisis center, 4-2, 6-2 
Deceased household member, 10-7 
Debt (vendor), 10-5 
Denial notice, 6-14 
Determining benefit level, 7-1 
Direct deposit payments, 6-4 
Direct payment (dp), 10-3 
Disabled, 2-1, 3-1, 3-8, 6-11, 7-1, 9-19, 

9-21, 13-2, 13-3 
Disaster proclamation, 10-1 
Dissolution of household, 10-7 
Dividends, 6-4, 6-6, 8-3 
Division, 2-1 
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Duplicate applications, 3-3 
Duplicate checker, 3-4 
Earned income, 2-1, 6-8, 6-11 
Earned income tax credits, 6-7 
Elderly, 2-1, 3-8, 7-1, 9-19, 13-3 
Electric disconnect, 10-2 
ELIBILITY 6-3 
 calculations, 6-3 
 countable income, 6-3 
 determinations, 6-1 
 documentation, 8-5 
 factors, 4-1 
            non-countable income, 6-6 
ELIGIBLE HOUSEHOLD, 4-1 
     one award, 5-1 
 order received, 5-1 
 timeframes, 5-1 
Emergency, 3-5, 3-6, 3-8, 16-1 
Employment, 6-7, 6-8 
ENTERING APPLICATIONS, 3-2 
 grant payment, 10-4 
Escrow payments, 6-5 
Ethnicity, 3-3 
Examples of subsidized housing screens 

and worksheets, 9-6 
Expedite phone line (3097), 12-3 
EXPEDITED APPLICATION 
      expedited heating assistance, 5-1 
      procedures, 3-6 
      processing, 3-5, 5-1 
      registration, 3-2 
     time frames, 3-6 
Fair hearings, 11-1 
Fax, 3-2 
Faxed applications, 3-6 
Federal income tax refunds, 6-6 
Fee agent, 2-1 
Filing cases, 12-7 
Filing period, 6-1 
Foster care payments, 6-4 
Fraud, 9-1 
Fuel type, 7-4, 9-4, 13-1 
Fully subsidize, 2-1, 9-11-15  
G.I. bill payments, 6-4 
General relief, 6-1, 6-6, 8-3 
Grant changes, 10-5 

Grant entry, 10-4 
Grant computation, 7-5 
Grant payment maintenance, 10-5 
Grant transfers, 10-6 
Gross monthly income, 2-1, 2-2, 4-1, 6-

3, 6-9, 7-2, 13-1, 13-2  
Gross rent, 9-3, 9-7, 9-8, 9-10, 9-11,  
9-15 
HAS alerts, 9-1, 12-1 
Head of household, 2-2, 3-1, 3-4, 6-6 
Hearings, 11-1 
Heating assistance, 2-2 
Heating cost, 8-1 
Higher Education Act Title IV Income, 

6-5 
Hold harmless payments, 6-6 
Hospital, 4-2, 6-2 
Hostel, 6-2 
Hotel, 4-2, 6-2, 7-3, 13-1 
Hotline (ivr) file transfer, 12-3 
House sharers, 7-2, 7-.4, 9-16, 12-1 
House sitter, 8-1 
HOUSEHOLD, 2-2 

composition, 8-2 
income, 7-2 
percent share, 7-4 
sharers file, 9-16 
situation, 7-2 
size, 7-1 

Housing category codes, 7-3 
Housing percent share, 7-4 
Illegal alien, 6-3 
Ionia, Inc. 9-21 
Inadequate income documentation, 8-5 
Incidental charges (vendor), 10.1, 10-22 
INCOME, 8-5 
 in-kind, 5-5 
 seasonal 2-2, 6-7, 6-8 
 self-employment 2-2, 6-8, 6-9 
Incomplete, 3-6 
Ineligible dwelling, 6-1 
Ineligible household, 4-2 
Inheritance, 6-4 
In-kind income, 6-5 
Interest, 6-4, 8-3 
Interpreter providers, 16-3 
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ISSUING BENEFITS, 10-1 
 grant distribution, 10-2 
 methods of payments, 10-2 

timeframes, 10-1 
Jury duty payments, 6-4 
Landlord, 12-1 
Lean-to, 7-3 
Leave cash-outs, 6-3 
Legislator or legislator’s staff, 12-2 
LIHEAP, 1-1 
Little or no income, 8-4 
Living with a parent, 6-1 
Loan repayment, 6-5 
Low burden, 2-2, 6-12, 7-5 
Lump sum payments, 6-4 
Methods of payment, 10-2 
Military base, 4-2, 6-1 
Missing fields, 3-2 
Mobile home, 7-3 
Mobile home dimensions, 9-18 
Moving, 6-12, 7-1, 10-6 
Motel, 4-2, 6-2 
Multiple households, 9-16 
Mysterious correspondence, 12-3 
Native corporation dividends, 6-5 
Natural gas, 7-4 
No cost, 6-2 
No direct home heating costs, 6-2, 9-6 
No receipt, 6-1 
Non-countable income, 6-6 
Non-discrimination, 12-1 
Not timely, 6-1 
Nursing home, 4-2, 6-2 
Office of Public Advocacy (OPA), 9-21 
Ombudsman’s office, 12-2 
One award per season, 5-1 
One-bedroom dwelling, 7-3 
One-room dwelling, 7-3 
One-room house or cabin, 7-3 
Order of paper work in case files, 12-6 
Original application, 3-3 
Over Income, 6-12 
Out-of-state, 6-1 
Out-of-state dwelling, 6-1 
Over income, 6-8, 6-11, 6-12, 7-2 
Payee fee, 6-7 

PAYMENT TYPES 
    applicant and vendor,10-4 
    applicant and landlord, 10-4  
    applicant & household member, 10-4 
    direct payments, 10-3 
Payment standard, 9-3, 9-7--11, 9-15 
Pend notice, 2-2, 9-17, 9-20 
Pending applications, 9-17 
 pending text, 9-20 
Pension, 6-4, 8-3 
Pensions, 6-4 
Permanent fund dividends, 6-4 
Physical address, 8-1 
Pick-up camper, 6-2 
Pledge, 3-7 
Postal pay dates, 16-10 
Postmarked, 3-2 
Poverty guidelines, 6-3 
Power of attorney, 3-1, 9-21 
Previously served, 6-12 
Processing, 3-3 
Processing time frames, 5-1 
Prudent person judgment (ppj), 12-2 
Public assistance, 6-3 
Purchased wood or coal, 7-4 
Purpose, 1-1 
Qualified alien, 2-2, 6-2 
Quality assurance, 12-9 
Reasons for pending, 9-17 
Reasons for re-pending, 9-19 
Receipt card, 3-3 
Recoupment of overpayments, 6-4, 7-5, 

9-1, 13-2 
Reimbursement of expenses, 6-6 
Relatives or close personal friends, 12-4 
Rent receipt, 3-2, 3-5, 8-1, 8-3, 9-18,  
12-1 
Rental agreement, 3-2, 3-5, 8-1, 8-3 
Rental income, 8-3, 9-16, 12-1 
Renting a room, 9-16 
Repayment agreement, 7-4 
Re-pend notice, 9-19 
Resources, 6-12 
Retirement, 6-4 
Returning verification, 12-8 
Sale of personal property, 6-5 
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SBS payments, 6-4 
SEASONAL EMPLOYMENT, 2-2, 3-7, 

6-6, 6-7 
 Threshold Test 6-9 
Second application, 3-3 
SELF-EMPLOYMENT, 6-8, 6-9 

computing income, 6-11 
expenses, 6-9 
non-countable exp., 6-10 
threshold test, 6-9 

Self-harvest fuel, 7-3 
Shelter costs, 2-2, 3-5 
Shelter intended 4 temp occupancy, 4-2 
Social security, 2-1, 2-3, 3-3, 3-8, 6-4,  
 6-6, 6-7, 8-3, 8-4, 12-1, 16-7, 16-8 
Specialized procedures 9-1 
Spina bifida, 6-6 
Stipends, 6-3 
Strike benefits, 6-4 
Student dormitory, 4-2, 6-2 
Student loans/grants, 8-3 
Student study grants, 6-5 
Student
Studio apartment, 7-3 

 under 18 years of age, 6-6, 6-11 

Subsidized adoption payments, 6-4 
Subsidized eligible, 9-1, 9-3, 9-7--10 
Subsidized heat, 9-2 
Subsidized housing (AHFC), 9-1 
Subsidized rental housing, 2-2, 3-2, 4-1, 

4-2, 6-2, 8-1, 9-1, 9-3, 9-4, 10-22 
Subsidized rental housing utility deposit, 
(SHRUD) 2-2, 3-8, 4-1, 5-5, 7-2 
Subsidized rental housing with direct 

heating costs, 6-2 
Supplemental security, 8-3 
Support from absent fam member, 6-3 
Temporary shelter, 6-2, 8-2 
Tenant utility worksheet, 9-3 
Tent, 4-2, 6-2, 7-2 
Thank you letters and notes, 12-3 
Threshold Tests, 6-8, 6-9 
Tips or gratuities, 8-3 
Title V income, 6-4 
Total family contribution, 9-3 
Tracking, 9-1 
Trade Readjustment Act (TRA), 6-5 

Training stipends, 6-4 
Travel trailer, 7-2 
Treatment of mental/physical illness, 4-2 
Tribal applications, 3-4 
Tribal LIHEAP, 6-2 
Tribal organization files, 12-9 
Two-party payment (2p), 10-3 
U.S citizen, 2-3, 6-2, 6-3, 7-1 
Undeliverable mail, 12-8 
Unearned income, 2-3 
Unemployment insurance, 2-3, 6-4, 7-1, 

8-3, 8-4 
Unsigned application, 9-17 
Unsubsidized heating costs, 4-1, 6-2, 6-

15, 9-5, 9-11--15 
Using other month for eligibility, 8-5 
Utility deposit, 2-3, 3-2, 3-8, 3-9, 4-1,  
 4-2, 5-1, 6-1, 6-2, 6-15, 7-3, 7-5, 9-1, 

10-1 
Vacation pay, 6-3 
Van, 6-2 
VENDOR, 1-1, 2-2, 2-3, 6-1, 7-5, 9-18 
 agreement, 10-3 
 coordinator, 10-1 
 debt, 10-5 
 disconnect, 10-3 

distribution, 10-1 
manual, 16-4 
payment, 10-2, 10-3, 10-4 
pledge, 3-5, 3-7 
receipts, 3-2 
refunds, 6-13, 10-7, 10-6, 12-1 
shut-off notice, 3-5, 3-6 

VERIFICATION, 2-3, 6-1, 6-2, 6-8,  
 6-11 
 documents, 12-1, 12-8 
 non-acceptable,  8-1 
 processing, 8-1 

returning verification, 12-1, 13-1, 
16-7 

 utility cost, 8-2 
Veteran’s benefits, 8-3 
Vietnam veterans, 6-6 
Vista volunteer income, 6-6 
Vocational rehabilitation payments, 6-3 
Voice mail, 12-10 
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Wages, 6-3, 8-4 
Wood, 3-2, 3-5, 6-1, 7-4, 8-1, 9-18, 9-

21, 10-1, 10-3, 10-4, 10-6, 13-1  

Worker’s compensation, 6-4, 8-4 
Worker’s compensation report, 16-12 
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